Skip to main content

UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES

The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open for current Fairfield University students, faculty, and staff only. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below

More details here.

Archives & Special Collections

Citing Archival Sources

Citation Managers

the Zotero logo

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a standalone application that uses browser connectors to save full text, organize sources, and create citations. Click the logo to see more info!

Refworks logo

RefWorks is an online citation management tool that allows you to organize your citations and quickly create bibliographies without having to type a word. Click the logo for more info!

How to Cite Archival Sources

Citing Sources from the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections

There is no single perfect way to cite material discovered while researching in an archives. That's the nature of research using primary sources. In general, published and unpublished materials that are only available through the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections should include the repository name (that's us, Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections). If these materials have been made accessible online, include the access date and url. Below is a list of the basic information you should include, if available, depending on the item you are citing.

1. Author or creator's name.
2. Title of the work.
3. Date.
4. Publication information.
5. Collection name.
6. Box and folder.
7. Repository.
8. Access Date.
9. URL or DOI.

For assistance with citations, please see our Citation Style Guides, or feel free to contact the Library Services & Information Desk

University Archivist

Elise Bochinski's picture
Elise Bochinski
Contact:
Email: ebochinski@fairfield.edu
Phone: 203-254-4000 x2892

DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University
1073 North Benson Rd
Fairfield, CT 06824