University Archives
University Archives
As the institutional memory of Fairfield University, the University Archives collects, preserves, arranges and describes records of enduring value from the founding of the University in 1942 to the present. We seek to document the ongoing stories of students, faculty, staff, administration and alumni in both physical and digital formats. This includes historical photographs, administrative documents, yearbooks, course catalogs, promotional materials and videos. We provide research and instruction services for the University as well as the broader research community.
Looking to start your research on Fairfield University history? Check out our 75th Anniversary Timeline, available as a PDF below:
Selected Resources for University History
Chronicles of Fairfield University, 1942-1992.
Six individual pamphlets created as part of the observance of the 50th anniversary of Fairfield University and Fairfield College Preparatory School.
PRINT: Stacks Upper Level, Call Number: LD1771.F2C57 BK.1-6
ONLINE: All six pamphlets are available in DigitalCommons@Fairfield, by clicking here: Chronicles of Fairfield University, 1942-1992.
A History of Fairfield University - Turcotte, Robert William.
This is a thesis submitted in 1975 by Robert William Turcotte as part of his masters degree for Trinity College, Hartford, CT. It covers the history of Fairfield University from its founding in 1942 through the installation of its sixth president, Rev. Thomas R. Fitzgerald, S.J., in 1973.
PRINT: Stacks Upper Level, Call Number: LD1771.F2T87
ONLINE: This resource is available in DigitalCommons@Fairfield by clicking here: A History of Fairfield University.
Fairfield University: the Emergence of a Modern Catholic Institution - Preville, Joseph Richard.
This is a dissertation submitted in 1985 by Joseph Richard Preville as part of his doctoral degree for Boston College. It covers the history of Fairfield University from 1942 through 1983.
PRINT: Stacks Upper Level, Call Number: LD1771.F2 P74
ONLINE: This resource is available in DigitalCommons@Fairfield by clicking here: Fairfield University: the Emergence of a Modern Catholic Institution.
If These Stones Could Speak: the Phenomenal Growth of Fairfield University's Campus - MacDonnell, Joseph.
This book by Rev. Joseph F. MacDonnell, S.J. provides a concise rendering of the founding of Fairfield University and provides history and facts about each of the twenty-four buildings that made up the University campus as of 1996.
PRINT: Stacks Upper Level, Call Number: LD1771.F2 M23
ONLINE: This resource is available in DigitalCommons@Fairfield by clicking here: If These Stones Could Speak: the Phenomenal Growth of Fairfield University's Campus.
Why are the Fairfield University Buildings Named After Dead Jesuits? - MacDonnell, Joseph.
This book by Rev. Joseph F. MacDonnell, S.J. provides biographical information and explains the significant contributions of approximately thirty Jesuit fathers, many of whom have Fairfield University buildings named in their honor.
PRINT: Stacks Upper Level, Call Number: LD1771.F2M24
ONLINE: This resource is available in DigitalCommons@Fairfield by clicking here: Why are the Fairfield University Buildings Named After Dead Jesuits?
Selected Journals
Below is a selected list of journals published by Fairfield University since its founding in 1942.
Bellarmine Quarterly / Bellarmine Letters (1942-1964)
Student journal which includes essays, poems, stories, photos and illustrations. Issues of the Bellarmine Quarterly from 1942 through 1951 have been digitized and will soon be available online. Print copies of all issues are retained in the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.
Fairfield... a University in Motion (1967-1979)
Magazine for Fairfield University students, staff, faculty and alumni. Also called Fairfield: University in Motion. Print copies are retained in the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.
Fairfield Now (1978-2009)
Fairfield Now, the next iteration of the University magazine, covers key players, developments and events on campus, including alumni news. For issues from 1978 through 2009, please visit our archival collection on DigitalCommons@Fairfield: Fairfield Now (1978-2009). Print copies of all available issues are retained in the library periodicals section as well as the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.
Fairfield University Magazine (2010-present)
The Fairfield University Magazine offers up-to-date news stories on people, initiatives, programs, and major events that celebrate and impact the campus community and friends of Fairfield University. The magazine is published four time a year, in November, March, June, and September.
To access current issues of the Fairfield University Magazine, please visit Fairfield University Magazine. For issues from 2010 through 2020, please visit our archival collection on DigitalCommons@Fairfield: Fairfield University Magazine (2010-2020). Print copies of all available issues are retained in the library periodicals section as well as the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.
Frontiers / New Frontiers (1955-1973)
Literary journal for Fairfield University. Print copies are retained in the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.
Groundstar (1974-1981)
Literary journal for Fairfield University. Print copies are retained in the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.
Sound (1989-2003)
Literary journal for Fairfield University. Print copies are retained in the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.
Dogwood: a Journal of Poetry and Prose (2001-present)
Dogwood: a Journal of Poetry and Prose is an annual publication sponsored by the College of Arts and Sciences and the English Department at Fairfield University. It is published once a year in print form, but current content, subscription rates, submission policies and back issues are also available on their website. Print copies of all available issues are retained in the library periodicals section as well as in the Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections.
Apollon (2019-present)
Apollon is a student-edited digital journal in the humanities focused on producing issues of high-quality peer-reviewed work by undergraduate students across a range of disciplines and embracing a wide array of intellectual approaches valued by humanistic inquiry. It is published twice a year, and has been housed at Fairfield University since 2019.
Student Newspapers
The Mirror (1977-present)
The Fairfield Mirror (or the Mirror) is the official student newspaper of Fairfield University, running from September 22, 1977 to the present. It typically publishes weekly on Wednesday during the academic year with additional issues during commencement and June orientation. Print copies of the current issue of the Mirror are often distributed weekly to designated locations on campus, including the Campus Center, the Library, and the Kelley Center.
To access current issues of the Mirror, please visit The Mirror. For issues from 1977 through 2014, please visit our archival collection on DigitalCommons@Fairfield: The Mirror (1977-2014).
The University Voice (1970-1977)
The University Voice was the University's official student newspaper that ran from October 1, 1970 through May 11, 1977. Please note: this collection is still being digitized, and only the first few years are available online at this time. To access our available issues of the University Voice, please visit our archival collection on DigitalCommons@Fairfield: (1970-1977) The University Voice. The University Voice is also available on microfiche at the library.
The Fairfield Free Press and Review (1970-1975)
The Fairfield Free Press and Review was considered the more radical of the two student newspapers published at the time (the University Voice being the other). It ran from September 10, 1970 through April 24, 1975. The Fairfield Free Press and Review is available on microfiche at the library.
The Stag (1949-1970)
The official student newspaper for Fairfield University during the University's formative years, the Stag ran from September 23, 1949 through May 6, 1970. To access all available issues of the Stag, please visit our archival collection on DigitalCommons@Fairfield: (1949-1970) The Stag.
The Fulcrum (1948-1949)
The Fulcrum ran from January 9, 1948 through May 20, 1949. To access all available issues of the Fulcrum, please visit our archival collections on DigitalCommons@Fairfield at: (1948-1949) The Fulcrum.
The Tentative (1947)
The first Fairfield University student newspaper, the Tentative was a mimeographed publication that ran from November 7, 1947 through December 19, 1947. To access all available issues of the Tentative, please visit our archival collections on DigitalCommons@Fairfield at: (1947) The Tentative.
Fairfield News and Campus Currents
FairfieldNews is the official source for Fairfield University news and announcements. It also contains links to archived news items, blogs, and more.
Campus Currents was "the official news publication of Fairfield University" from 1993 through 2012. Back issues are available in print in the University Archives. For more information, please contact the University Archivist.
DVDs
DVDs about the history of Fairfield University or related topics can be found by going through the DiMenna-Nyselius Library's Online Catalog.
To search for any Fairfield University event, click on the Books and Media tab, then type in "fairfield university" plus a keyword.
Example 1: type in "fairfield university commencement"
Example 2: type in "fairfield university and Laurence Langguth"
Please note: some DVDs are available to be checked out of the library, while others may be in-library use only. Patrons can check out DVDs or request earbuds to play DVDs in the library at the Library Services Desk.
