Skip to Main Content

Archives & Special Collections

Research Guidelines

List of in-person research guidelines

Research Guidelines - In-Person Visits

We are happy to accommodate you for an in-person visit here at the library to do research in the University Archives and Special Collections.   All researchers must first make an appointment with the University Archivist.  You can request an appointment on our website here: https://librarybestbets.fairfield.edu/fflduhistory/about

Consult our list of Finding Aids and include in your request the box and folder numbers of the items you are interested in viewing.  Research appointments are generally for 1-2 hours and must be made in advance so that the Archives staff can secure a room and prepare the materials.

Please keep in mind our policies and ground rules for viewing materials.*

  • All visitors must be accompanied at all times by an authorized staff member when working with Archive materials.

  • Materials will be brought out one box at time and we ask that researchers view one folder at a time to help maintain file organization.

  • Eating, drinking, and gum chewing are prohibited in collection areas and when working with materials. There is no smoking allowed in any area of the Library.

  • Backpacks, book bags, briefcases, and purses are not allowed in the research area. Overcoats and bulky outerwear must also be kept separate from the research area.

  • Researchers may use pencil and paper and/or a laptop computer to take notes. Ink pens are not permitted.

  • Researchers are permitted to create digital copies of materials using their phone and other devices for private study or research for non-commercial purposes only, subject to restrictions based on the physical condition of the materials, copyright law, and donor restrictions.  It is the responsibility of the user to secure permission from the appropriate copyright holder for any further use of these materials, including publication.

  • All materials must be handled carefully to ensure that they are maintained for future use.  This applies to seemingly “newer” items as well as older artifacts.  Archives staff will consult with you on how to handle potential fragile items and make appropriate materials available to you such as book cradles and gloves if the materials require it.  It is also imperative that materials remain in the order in which the researcher received them. Misfiling or changes in order can lead the Archives staff to assume that items are missing and may inconvenience future researchers.

We encourage researchers to use our materials, and try to make them as accessible as possible.  If an in-person appointment is inconvenient for you, please feel free to contact the University Archivist and we will do our best to provide research support for your requests.

*Based on Society of American Archivists Research Guidelines.

Contact Information

Profile Photo
Elise Bochinski
Contact:
Email: ebochinski@fairfield.edu
Phone: 203-254-4000 x2892

DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University
1073 North Benson Rd
Fairfield, CT 06824