The Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections is a resource center dedicated to the preservation and access of primary sources documenting the history of Fairfield University and Fairfield College Preparatory School. Archives staff work to help researchers identify documents, publications, photographs and audio-visual material on various topics related to the origins and development of Fairfield University. Among the types of material included in this collection are student publications - newspapers, yearbooks, and literary magazines - as well as books and papers written by members of the faculty. Copies of audio and video recordings of campus events are also retained here. The University Archives serves as the depository for records of historical significance from University and Preparatory School offices.
The Fairfield University Archives and Special Collections is housed and administered by the DiMenna-Nyselius Library. Policies governing access to and use of archival materials are in accordance with policies established by the Library, and take into account any restrictions placed on access by the donor or originating office that have been accepted by the Library.
In-person use of the Archives is primarily by appointment. Appointments can be scheduled during the week by contacting Elise Bochinski, University Archivist, at (203) 254-4000 ext. 2892, or by e-mail at email@example.com. In-person requests for archival and special collections material may also be handled at the Reference Desk. The Reference staff may be reached by phone at (203) 254-4000 ext. 2178 or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Library encourages researchers to contact the Archivist directly either by phone or email with any extended research requests. A survey of available material on a particular topic can be done by the Archives staff ahead of time, saving the researcher unnecessary time and travel. In many cases, material can be scanned and delivered to researchers via the Internet.
Researchers wishing to come to the library in-person to do extended work in the Archives or Special Collections may do so with special permission from the University Librarian or the University Archivist. Please contact the Archivist to schedule an appointment.
Interested in more primary sources for your research? For additional help with finding diaries, letters, first-hand accounts and other primary sources on a variety of historical topics, please consult our Primary Sources Research Guide.