Finding Articles

Databases to find articles, book chapters, interviews, etc.

America: History & Life with Full-Text (This link opens in a new window)
Covers the history, culture, and current affairs of the United States and Canada, with citations, full-text journal articles, and books. Simultaneous user limit: 6.
JSTOR (This link opens in a new window)
JSTOR archives images and full-text of scholarly journals.
Subscriptions include: Arts and Sciences Collections I through XV, the Ireland Collection, the Jewish Studies Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection.
Rock's Backpages (This link opens in a new window)
A collection of writings on popular music, covering 1960 to present. Content includes articles, interviews, concert reviews, and artist profiles. Also includes audio interviews of artists.
U.S. History in Context (This link opens in a new window)
A collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, background sources, and primary documents that covers the most-studied events and issues in U.S. history. Contains images, video, and audio files, as well as primary source material.

The Library provides current, free-to-you access to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chronicle of Higher Education. Click here for info on how to create accounts with all three!

Newspapers with Both Current and Historical Coverage

Nation Archive (This link opens in a new window)
Contains all issues of The Nation, beginning with its first in 1865 to the present. Articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles are included.
Newspaper Source Plus (This link opens in a new window)
Contains full-text access to major international and national newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (This link opens in a new window)
Funded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.
Includes:
• Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, blogs, local-regional-national-international newspapers with deep archives
• Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790
• Business information on U.S. and international companies and executives
US Newsstream (This link opens in a new window)
Enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Contains full-text acess to national and regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.

Newspapers With Only Historical Coverage

African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998 (This link opens in a new window)
A full-text collection of newspapers published by or for African Americans.
Connecticut Historical Newspapers (This link opens in a new window)
A collection of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers published in Connecticut. Content includes general news, election returns, legislative acts, letters, poetry, shipping news, and advertisements.
New York Times - Historical (This link opens in a new window)
Provides every issue in PDF format from 1851 (with a three year embargo). Includes news articles, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, advertisements, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (This link opens in a new window)
Access to digitized issues of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1922. Access to 1992-Present is available in U.S. Newsstream.

Chronicling America
An Internet-based, searchable database of historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages being developed and maintained by the Library of Congress. Digitized material currently covers the historic period 1756-1963.

Magazines with Both Current and Historical Coverage

Academic Search Premier (This link opens in a new window)
This multidisciplinary database contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, and videos.

Magazines With Only Historical Coverage

Life Magazine Archive (This link opens in a new window)
Collection of cover-to-cover format archives of Life Magazine, from the very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
Sports Illustrated Archive (This link opens in a new window)
A cover-to-cover format archive of Sports Illustrated Magazine, from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000.
Time Magazine Archive (This link opens in a new window)
A cover-to-cover format archive of Time Magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.

Main Navigation

Fairfield University

DiMenna-Nyselius Library

MUSC 1101 - History of Jazz (Fumasoli & Torff)

Databases to find articles, book chapters, interviews, etc.

Find Magazines and Newspapers

Research Guides