Online Background Sources
Background Sources
Reference tools such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are good places to start your research because they provide an overview of the topic as well as keywords, dates, and facts
The databases below provide access to several online versions of music encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Oxford Music Online (This link opens in a new window)This collection of scholarly music encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Also includes timelines and the Grove Opera Indexes. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship. Simultaneous users limit: 3.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols and Ideas (This link opens in a new window)Contains information on popular culture in America, both past and present. Includes cultural overview essays broken down by decade and provides images, maps, and videos. Includes primary sources.
- Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
The following reference resources available in print and online, where indicated:
The Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Jazz and BluesCall Number: Reference Stacks ML102 .J3 B56 2005ISBN: 0823082660Publication Date: 2005
A Biographical Guide to the Great Jazz and Pop Singers by Call Number: Reference Main Level ML102.J3 F75 2010Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age: from the end of World War I to the great crash by Call Number: Ref. E784 .E53Publication Date: 2008
Jazz EncyclopediaCall Number: Reference Stacks ML102 .J3 C66 2005ISBN: 0141006463Publication Date: 2005
