Find Rhetoric and Composition Resources
For much more information on how rhetoric and composition are being taught at Fairfield University, check out the website for the Core Writing team! That page also contains specific ENGL 1001 information like learning outcomes and threshold concepts.
You can view two of their textbooks here:
Bad Ideas About Writing by Call Number: Online
Rhet/Comp Open Resources
- CompPile"CompPile allows ready reference to the published scholarship in post-secondary composition and rhetoric from 1939 to the present. Its coverage of work from 1939 to 1999 is especially comprehensive."
- Silva Rhetoricae"A guide to the terms of classical and renaissance rhetoric."
- WAC Clearinghouse"The Clearinghouse is widely regarded as the leading Web site supporting the use of writing and speaking in courses across the curriculum."
- Writing Spaces"An open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses."
Rhet/Comp Key Databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (This link opens in a new window)Offers full-text and indexing for journals covering communication, mass media, and other related fields.
- ERIC (This link opens in a new window)Provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, dissertations, reports, books, and more in education and related fields. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
- MLA International Bibliography (This link opens in a new window)Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive resource for the study of language, literature, film, and other related fields. It includes access to journal articles, books, and more.
- Project MUSE (This link opens in a new window)
Full-text scholarly content from journals and books, covering the humanities and social sciences.
