Commonly Cited Sources in Chicago: Author-Date system:

Book - Ebook- Journal Article - Magazine Article - Newspaper Article - Website, Blog, or Social Media -

Email, List-serv, or Personal Communication - Audio/Video - Image or Advertisement -

Secondary Sources

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Zelizer, Barbie. 2003. Remembering to Forget: Holocaust Memory through the Camera's Eye. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

(Zelizer 2003, 11)

First Author's Last Name, First Author's First Name, and Second Author's First Name and Last Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Mock, Douglas W., and Geoffrey A. Parker. 1997. The Evolution of Sibling Rivalry. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

(Mock and Parker 1997, 73)

First Author's Last Name, First Author's First Name, Second Author's First Name and Last Name, Third Author's First Name and Last Name, Fourth Author's First Name and Last Name, Fifth Author's First Name and Last Name, and Sixth Author's First Name and Last Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Dasco, Sheryl Tatar, Clifford C. Dasco, Connie U. Brelhan, Kirk C. Harlow, Margaret S. Jaffee-Neer, Marilyn Rumsey, and Ellison H. Wittels. 1995. Managed Care Answer Book. New York: Panel Publishers.

Note: For works with more than ten authors Chicago recommends  only the first seven should be listed in the bibliography, followed by et al. 14.76:

(Dasco et al. 1995, 122)

Initials of Organization (Name of Organization). Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher [Initials may be used if they are the same as the author].

APA (American Psychiatric Association). 1998. Practice Guideline for the Treatment of Patients with Panic Disorder. Washington, DC: APA.

OR

Name of Organization. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher [Initials may be used if they are the same as the author].

American Psychiatric Association. 1998. Practice Guideline for the Treatment of Patients with Panic Disorder. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association.

(APA 1998, 26)

Or:

(American Psychiatric Association 1998, 26)

Note: The organization name may be abbreviated in the in-text citation. When using the abbreviation, alphabetize the reference list entry by abbreviated name, instead of the spelled out name.

Name of Author(s)/Organization. Title of Work. [Identifier if provided]. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher, Year of Publication. URL [if online].

KewalRamani, Angela, Lauren Gilbertson, Mary Ann Fox, and Stephen Provasnik. 2007. Status and Trends in the Education of Racial and Ethnic Minorities. NCES 2007-039. Washington, DC: National Center for Educational Statistics, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education. https://nces.ed.gov/pubs2007/2007039.pdf.

OR

World Health Organization. 2006. Health System Profile - Egypt. Cairo: WHO. http://apps.who.int/medicinedocs/documents/s17293e/s17293e.pdf.

 (KewalRamani et al. 2007, 44)

OR

 (World Health Organization 2006, 33)

Anonymous. Year of Publication. Title. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language. 2000. 4th ed. Boston: Houghton Mifflin.

OR

Stanze in lode della donna brutta. 1547. Florence.

Note: If a book is listed as 'Anonymous', then that word should be included at the beginning of the citation. Otherwise, the reference should normally begin with the title. An initial article is ignored in alphabetizing. Text citations may refer to a short form of the title but must include the first word (other than an initial article).

(American Heritage Dictionary 2000, 156)

OR

(Stanze in lode della donna brutta 1547) or (Stanze 1547)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Preface (or Foreword or Introduction) to Title of Book, by Book's Author, inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Roosevelt, Franklin D., Jr. 1982. Foreword to Love, Eleanor: Eleanor Roosevelt and Her Friends, by Joseph P. Lash, vii-viii. Garden City, NY: Doubleday and Company.

(Roosevelt 1982, vii)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Name of Editor, inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Benedict, Karen. 1988. "Archival Ethics." In Managing Archives and Archival Institutions, edited by James Gregory Bradsher, 174-84. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

(Benedict 1988, 176)

The Entire Collection:

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Edited by Name of Editor(s). Translated by Name of Translator(s). Place of Publication: Name of Publisher, Date of Publication.

Montaigne, Michel de. 1993. The Complete Essays. Translated and edited by M. A. Screech. London: Penguin Books.

OR

A Specific Essay:

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Essay." In Title of Book, edited by Name of Editor(s), translated by Name of Translator(s), inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Montaigne, Michel de. 1993. "On the Cannibals." In The Complete Essays, translated and edited by M. A. Screech, 228-241. London: Penguin Books.

Note: If the translator and the editor are the same person, the titles can be combined and listed in the same order as on the title page of the original.

(Montaigne 1993)

OR

(Montaigne 1993, 230)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Poem." In Title of Book, edited by Name of Editor(s), inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Frost, Robert. 1964. "The Road Not Taken." In Complete Poems of Robert Frost, 131. New York: Holt, Reinhart, and Winston.

OR

Frost, Robert. 1988. "The Road Not Taken." In The Norton Anthology of Modern Poetry, edited by Richard Ellmann and Robert O'Clair, 247-48. New York: W. W. Norton.

(Frost 1964, 131)

Stand-Alone Play

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Shepard, Sam. 1981. True West. New York: Nelson Doubleday.

OR

Play Within an Anthology

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Play." In Title of Book, edited by Name of Editor(s), inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Shakespeare, William. 2008. "King Lear." In The Norton Shakespeare, edited by Stephen Greenblatt, pp. 2325-2567. New York: W. W. Norton.

(Shepard 2008, 63)

OR

(Lear (Greenblatt) 2008, 3.2.1-9)

Note: For frequently cited works such as Shakespeare where variation can take place in wording, line numbering, etc., the edition is normally specified in the first note or in the bibliography. The edition must be mentioned if page numbers are cited.

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Edition number. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Buktato, Danuta and Marvin A. Daehler. 2004. Child Development: A Thematic Approach. 5th ed. Boston: Houghton Mifflin.

(Buktato and Daehler 2004, 78)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Translated by Name of Translator(s). Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Freud, Sigmund. 1999. The Interpretation of Dreams. Translated by Joyce Crick. New York: Oxford University Press.

(Freud 1999, 28)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication for Specific Volume. Title of Volume. Vol. volume number of Title of Multivolume Work. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher, Year(s) of Publication.

Churchill, Winston S. 1956. The Birth of Britain. Vol. 1 of A History of the English-Speaking Peoples. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1956-58.

Note: If the work has not yet been completed, the date of the first volume is followed by a dash and the punctuation that follows (e.g. 1956-.)

(Churchill 1956, 88)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year(s) of Publication. Title of Multivolume Work. Number of Volumes vols. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.

Cook, Blanche Weisen. 1992-99. Eleanor Roosevelt. 2 vols. New York: Viking.

Note: Always give the volume numbers in arabic numerals, even if the book has the volume numbers spelled out in roman numerals.

(Cook 1992-99, 1:52)

Print Encyclopedia Entry:

Name of Encyclopedia. Year of Publication. s.v. "Title of Article." Edition. Number of Volumes. Place of Publication: Publisher.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law. 2005. s.v. "North Atlantic Treaty Organization." 2nd ed. 10 vols. Detroit: Thompson Gale.

Electronic Encyclopedia Entry:

Name of Encyclopedia. Year of Publication. s.v. "Title of Article". Publisher. Article published Month Day, Year of Publication [if no publication or revision date is available, provide an access date]. DOI or stable URL.

Encyclopedia of Global Religion. 2009. s.v. "Kenya". Sage. Accessed July 17, 2012. http://libdb.fairfield.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=474348&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_658.

Signed Encyclopedia Entry:

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." In Title of Encyclopedia. Publisher. Publication or Revision Date [if no publication or revision date is available, provide an access date]. DOI or stable URL [if electronic].

Stalley, Roger. 2003. "Clonmacnois Monastery." In Grove Art Online. Oxford Art Online. Oxford University Press. Last modified October 2, 2012. https://doi.org/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.article.T018242.

Note: Well-known encyclopedias are often omitted in the Reference List and only included in in-text citations. Above is a more formal example. For well known references such as Encyclopaedia Britannica, you can omit publisher and location, but the edition must be included. For lesser known publications, this information should be included. If items are listed alphabetically, use abbreviation "s.v.", short for sub verbo, or "under the word".

If No Reference List Is Used:

Print:

(West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2005, s.v. "North Atlantic Treaty Organization," 2nd ed., 10 vols., Detroit: Thompson Gale)

Electronic:

(Encyclopedia of Global Religion, 2009, s.v. "Kenya," Sage, accessed July 17, 2012, http://libdb.fairfield.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=474348&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_658)

Signed:

If A Reference List is Used:

Print:

(West's Encyclopedia of American Law 2005)

Electronic:

(Encyclopedia of Global Religion 2009)

Signed:

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Name of Editor, inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher. Format of ebook or URL.

Khan, Paul. 2012. "A Civil Religion of Human Rights?" In Civil Religion, Human Rights and International Relations: Connecting People Across Cultures and Traditions, edited by Porsdam Helle, 49-65. Northampton: Edward Elgar. EBL ebook.

Note: The format and example above are for how to cite a chapter within a book that contains chapters written by different authors. If you are citing one chapter in a book written by a single author, see 14.106 (NB) for the appropriate citation example. Include last modified date and URL if applicable.

(Khan 2012, 52)

Note: When citing an ebook that does not have fixed page numbers, use a chapter number, section heading or another reference marker in the note.

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher. Format of ebook or URL.

Russell, Martin. 2001. Beethoven's Hair: An Extraordinary Historical Odyssey and a Scientific Mystery Solved. New York: Broadway Books. ebrary collections ebook.

(Russell 2001, 33)

Note: When citing an ebook that does not have fixed page numbers, use a chapter number, section heading or another reference marker in the note.

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number (Month or Season): page numbers. DOI or stable URL.

Friedman, Max Paul. 2009. "Simulacrobama: The Mediated Election of 2008." Journal of American Studies 43, no. 2 (June): 341-356. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0021875809990090.

Or:

Kenseth, Joy. 1981. "Bernini's Borghese Sculptures: Another View." The Art Bulletin 63, no. 2 (June): 191-210. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3050112.

Note: If neither a DOI or a stable URL is available, then use the name of the database rather than the URL.

           If no month or season listed, the issue number should be placed in parenthesis. Example:

Glass, Jennifer, and Philip Levachak. 2014. "Red States, Blue States, and Divorce: Understanding the Impact of Conservative Protestantism on Regional Variation in Divorce Rate." American Journal of Sociology 119 (4): 1002-46. https://doi.org/10.1086/674703

(Friedman 2009, 342)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number (Month or Season if included): page numbers. https://doi.org/:xxxxxxxxxxxx.

Humphrey, Laura L. 1986. "Structural Analysis of Parent-Child Relationships in Eating Disorders." Journal of Abnormal Psychology 95, no. 4 (November): 395-402. https://doi.org/10.1037/0021- 843X.95.4.395.

Or:

Salama, Ashraf M. 2008. "A Theory for Integrating Knowledge in Architectural Design Education." Archnet-IJAR: International Journal of Architectural Research 2 (1): 100-28. http://archnet.org/ publications/5097.

Note: If a DOI is not available, use a URL.

(Humphrey 1986, 396)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number: page numbers.

Greenberg, Anna. 2001. "Race, Religiosity, and the Women's Vote." Women & Politics 22, no. 3: 59-82.

(Greenberg 2001, 61)

Author of Review's Last Name, Author of Review's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article [if any]." Review of Title of Book being reviewed, by Author's First and Last Name. Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number: page numbers. DOI or stable URL (if online).

Sorby, Angela. 2008. Review of Songs of Ourselves: The Uses of Poetry in America, by Joan Shelley Ruben. American Historical Review 113, no. 2 (April): 449-51. https://doi.org /10.1086/ahr.113.2.449. 

Note: Cite book reviews by author of the review and include book title and author(s) or editor(s). Follow applicable guidelines for citing periodicals.

(Sorby 2008, 450)  

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of Publication. Stable URL or name of database.

Vick, Karl. 2015. "Cuba on the Cusp." Time, April 6, 2015. http://libdb.fairfield.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=egs&AN=101753556&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Or:

Brown, Rob. 2012. "The Last Boom Industry." New Statesman, March 26, 2012. Academic OneFile.

Note: A stable URL is preferable at the end of the citation but if none is available use the name of the database.

Note: Weekly, bimonthly, or monthly magazines, even if numbered by volume and issue, are usually cited by date only. While a specific page number may be cited in an in-text citation, the inclusive page numbers of an article may be omitted.

Note: Magazines are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text (14.198). Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Vick 2015, "Cuba on the Cusp," Time, April 6, 2015, 38)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Vick 2015, 38)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of Publication. URL.

Malcolm, Janet. 2011.  "Depth of Field: Thomas Struth's Way of Seeing." New Yorker, September 26, 2011. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2011/09/26/depth-of-field.

Note: Magazines are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text (14.198). Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Malcolm 2011, "Depth of Field: Thomas Struth's Way of Seeing," New Yorker, September 26, 2011)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Malcolm 2011)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of Publication.

Fineman, Howard. 2007. "The Political Winds of War." Newsweek, May 7, 2007.

Note: Magazines are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text (14.198). Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Fineman 2007, "The Political Winds of War," Newsweek, May 7, 2007, 45)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Fineman 2007, 45)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of Publication. Stable URL or Name of Database.

Harmon, Amy. 2006. "DNA Gatherers Hit a Snag: The Tribes Don't Trust Them." New York Times, December 10, 2006. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times.

Note: A stable URL is preferable at the end of the citation but if none is available use the name of the database.

Note: Newspapers are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Harmon 2006, "DNA Gatherers Hit a Snag: The Tribes Don't Trust Them," New York Times, December 10, 2006, 1)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Harmon 2006, 1)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of Publication. URL.

Harmon, Amy. 2006. "DNA Gatherers Hit a Snag: The Tribes Don't Trust Them." New York Times, December 10, 2006. http://www.nytimes.com/2006/12/10/ us/10dna.html.

Note: Newspapers are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Harmon 2006, "DNA Gatherers Hit a Snag: The Tribes Don't Trust Them," New York Times, December 10, 2006)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Harmon 2006)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, and Year of Publication, Section, Edition.

Vogel, Carol. 2007. "Art in the Present Tense: Politics, Loss and Beauty." New York Times, June 11, 2007, Arts section, East Coast edition.

Note: In a Reference List entry, it may be useful to add "Final edition," "Midwest edition," or some such identifier. If the paper is is published in several sections, the section number (e.g., sec. 1) or title (e.g., Nation) may be given. However, in an in-text citation, no edition information is needed.

Note: Newspapers are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Vogel 2007, "Art in the Present Tense: Politics, Loss and Beauty," New York Times, June 11, 2007, E1)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Vogel 2007, E1)

Title of Newspaper. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Month Day, Year of Publication.

Hartford Courant. 2006. "Number of Out-of-Wedlock Births a Record." November 26, 2006.

Note: Newspapers are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

("Number of Out-of-Wedlock Births a Record," 2006, Hartford Courant, November 26, 2006)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Hartford Courant 2006)

Author's Last Name, Author's First name. Year of Publication. Letter to the editor. Title of Newspaper, Month Day, and Year of Publication.

Ashram, Jane. 2006. Letter to the editor. Boston Globe, November 9, 2006.

Note: Published letters to the editor are treated generically, without headlines.

Note: Newspapers are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Ashram 2006, letter to the editor, Boston Globe, November 9, 2006, A16)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Ashram 2006, A16)

AI should not be cited in a reference list unless you provide a publicly available link. If there is a link, cite it in the bibliography as a personal communication.

(ChatGPT, Mar 14 , 2023)

Author of the Site. Year of Publication. "Title of Web Page." Owner/Sponsor of Site. Published, Modified, or Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.

Watson, Ivan. 2011. "Tunisians Vote in First Election Following Arab Spring." CNN.com. Last modified October 23, 2011. http://www.cnn.com/2011/10/23/world/africa/tunisia-elections/index.html.

Note: Websites are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Watson 2011, "Tunisians Vote in First Election Following Arab Spring," CNN.com, last modified October 23, 2011)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Watson 2011)

Owner/Sponsor of Site. Year of Publication or n.d. (if no date is available). "Title of Web Page." Published, Modified, or Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.

9 News. n.d. "Victorian Smoking Rates Hit Record Low." Accessed August 17, 2012. https://www.9news.com.au/technology/2012/10/09/17/08/victorian-smoking-rates-hit-record-low.

Note: Cite the web page in the Reference List by the owner or sponsor of the site. If there is no publication date or last modified date, use the date when you accessed the web page.

Note: Websites are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

("Victorian Smoking Rates Hit Record Low," n.d., 9 News, accessed August 17, 2012)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(9 News, n.d.)

In text:

In his blog posting dated September 16, 2010, in Ward Six, J. Robert Lennon discusses...

In a Reference List:

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Entry." Title of Blog (blog), Month Day, and Year of Entry. URL.

Lennon, J. Robert. 2010. "How Do You Revise?." Ward Six (blog), September 16, 2010. http://wardsix.blogspot.com/2010/09/how-do-you-revise.html.

If citing an entire blog:

AHA Today (blog). http://blog.historians.org/education/919/inuit-contact-an-arctic-culture-teaching-resource.

Note: Should a Reference List entry be necessary, it should be listed under the name of the author.

Note: Blogs are often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Lennon 2010, "How Do You Revise?," Ward Six (Blog), September 16, 2010)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Lennon 2010)

In text:

Conan O'Brien's tweet was characteristically deadpan: "In honor of Earth Day, I'm recycling my tweets" (@ConanOBrien, April 22, 2015).

In a Reference List:

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name (Handle/Username if available). Year of Publication. "Title of Posting." Social Media Type, Month Day, Year, Time of Posting. URL.

O'Brien, Conan (@ConanOBrien). 2015. "In honor of Earth Day, I'm recycling my tweets." Twitter, April 22, 2015, 11:10 a.m. https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448.

Souza, Pete (@petesouza). 2016. "President Obama bids farewell to President Xi of China at the conclusion of the Nuclear Security Summit." Instagram photo, April 1, 2016. https://www.instagram.com/p/BDrmfXTtNCt/.

Diaz, Junot. 2016. "Always surprises my students when I tell them that the 'real' medieval was more diverse than the fake ones most of us consume." Facebook, February 24, 2016. https://www.facebook.com/junotdiaz.writer/posts/972495572815454.

Note: Because social media is subject to editing and deletion, retaining a copy of anything cited is suggested.

Note: Social media is often cited only within the text of the paper. A corresponding Reference List entry is not needed as long as the item has been documented in the text. Above is a more formal example of the citation. However, a frequently cited account or an extensive thread related to a single subject or post may be included in the Reference List.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Conan O'Brien (@ConanOBrien) 2015, "In honor of Earth Day, I'm recycling my tweets," Twitter, April 22, 2015, 11:10 a.m.)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(O'Brien 2015)

In text:

In her e-mail to the author on December 6, 2006, Barbara Smith described...

Note: Email is usually cited only within the text of the paper.

(Barbara Smith, 2006, e-mail message to author, December 6, 2006)

Message Author's Last Name, Message Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Subject or Thread." Title of List or Forum (followed by List or Forum if not part of the title), the Title of any Host Site, the Date of the Message or Post. URL.

Abungu, Lorna. 2007. "Valuing ethnographic objects." ICME Electronic Mailing List, April 13, 2007. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/icme/message/155.

Note: Electronic mailing list messages are usually cited only within the text of the paper.

If No Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Abungu, 2007, "Valuing ethnographic objects," ICME Electronic Mailing List, April 13, 2007)

If A Reference List Entry Is Used:

(Abungu 2007)

In text:

In a telephone conversation between Sarah Jones and the author on June 22, 2006...

Note: Personal communications such as face to face conversation, telephone conversation, text messages, etc. are usually cited only within the text of the paper.

(Sarah Jones, telephone conversation, June 22, 2006)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of work. Title of Film. Name of Publisher, Format of Film. From Source, Collection Name. Medium, Duration of film. URL.

Edison, Thomas A. 1898. Sleighing Scene. Thomas A. Edison, Inc., 35mm film. From Library of Congress, America at Work, America at Leisure: MotionPictures from 1894-1915. RealMedia, MPEG, Quick Time video, 47 sec. http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.mbrsmi/lcmp002.m2a38968.

"Football Medley and Bright College Years ~Fenno Heath Yale Glee Club 1990." 1990. Video, 8:32. From the performance at the 1990 Commencement Concert, posted by "Peggy Heath Ogilvy," February 22, 2015. https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=yale+glee+club+1990.

(Edison 1898)

("Football Medley" 1990)

Director's Last Name, Director's First Name, dir. Original Release Date. Title of Movie. Location of Distributor: Name of Distributor, Item Release Date. Medium.

Hitchcock, Alfred, dir. 1954. Rear Window. Universal City, CA: Universal Pictures, 2001. DVD.

"Crop Duster Attack." 1959. North by Northwest. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock. Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2000. DVD.

(Hitchcock 1954)

Name of Composer, Conductor, or Performer (depends on who you emphasize in your paper). Recording Date. Title of Recording. Name of Composer, Conductor, and/or Performer (if they are not listed at the beginning of the Reference List entry). Name of Recording Company Music Number, Copyright Date, medium.

Dylan, Bob. 1968. All Along the Watchtower. Jimi Hendrix. MCA MCAD-10895, 1993, compact disc.

(Dylan 1968)

Director's Last Name, Director's First Name, dir. Year of Airing. Title of Series. Season Number, Episode Number, "Title of Episode." Original Air Date, Network. URL

Mayberry, Russ, dir. 1971. The Brady Bunch. Season 3, episode 10, "Her Sister's Shadow." Aired November 19, 1971, on ABC. https://www.hulu.com/the-brady-bunch.

(Mayberry 1971)

Title of Series. Original Air Dates. Creator(s) of Series. Producer(s) of Series. Network.

The West Wing. 1999-2006. Created by Aaron Sorkin. Produced by Aaron Sorkin, Thomas Schlamme, John Wells, Alex Graves, and Christopher Misiano. NBC.

(The West Wing)

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Work. Title of Work. Medium, Date of Work. Title of Source, Location, Date of Publication. URL. 

McCurry, Steve. 1984.  Afghan Girl. Photograph, December 1984. National Geographic, cover, June 1985. http://tinyurl.galegroup.com/tinyurl/5k25q7.

Note: Titles of paintings, drawings, sculptures, and photographs are italicized. Titles of antiquities are set in roman.

(McCurry 1984)

Artist's Last Name, Artist's First Name. Date. Title of Work. Medium. Museum Name, Museum Location.

Hopper, Edward. 1929. Railroad Sunset. Oil on canvas. Whitney Museum of American Art, New York. http://collection.whitney.org/object/5874.

Note: Information about works of art can usually be presented in the text rather than a Reference List entry.

Note: Titles of paintings, drawings, sculptures, and photographs are italicized. Titles of antiquities are not italicized because ancient works have their titles given to them by curators rather than the artist.

(Hopper 1929)

Product, Company, or Institution Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Advertisement" (if applicable). Advertisement. Name of Publication, Date of Publication, Page Number (for print) or URL (for electronic).

Banana Republic. 2006. Advertisement. InStyle, October 2006, 51.

Note: Advertisements are not typically included in the Reference List, just in the in-text citations. Above is a more formal example of the citation.

(Banana Republic 2006, 51)

Reference List Format:

Give the citation for your secondary source. Use the appropriate citation format for your source, e.g. book or article.

Reference List Example:

Zelizer, Barbie. 2003. Remembering to Forget: Holocaust Memory through the Camera's Eye. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

In Susan Sontag's 1977 book On Photography (quoted in Zelizer 2003, 11)...

Note: Cite the original source in the running text of your paper. Cite the secondary source in parenthesis with "quoted in."

In-text Citation Format:

(Author's Last Name Publication Date, Page Number (if needed)

In-text Citation Examples:

(Zelizer 2003, 11) (Chavez 2006)

An in-text citation is usually placed before any punctuation, except for in the case of a block quote; then the citation is placed after the punctuation mark. The period is not needed after the closing parenthesis.

Example:

Block Quote:

The purpose of an ethical code is to delineate, for the members of the profession and for the public at large, the issues of greatest concern and the areas of potential conflict between individual action and the purposes of the group, and to guarantee that the special expertise of the group will be used for the good of society. (Benedict 1988, 176)

For run-in quotations, the in-text citation is placed after the closing quotation mark. If a quotation ends with a question or exclamation point, then the punctuation is retained inside the quotation mark, and a period is added after the citation.

Examples:

Run-in Quote:

"No single memory reflects all that is known about a given event, personality, or issue" (Zelizer 2003, 3).

Quotation Ending with a Question Mark:

"Do we do a disservice to our colleagues and to our profession by placing so little emphasis upon understanding ethics, with the concomitant inability to judge our actions upon firm ethical principles?" (Benedict 1988, 175).

If an author's name appears in the text, then it does not need to be repeated in the citation.

Examples:

Henry (2006) uses triangulation to study the United Kingdom's Buddhist population. Mock and Parker (1997) subscribe to the theory that siblings ...

Title. Year of Publication. Version. Place of Publication: Publisher.

The Bible. 1998. Authorized King James version. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Note: Books of the Bible can be abbreviated, for example, Lev., Num. The Reference List format is not required, but may be used to reference a particular version.

(John 3:2-5)