Comparative Country Data Study & Analysis
Welcome students! Today, you will begin gathering data for your Comparative Country Data Study and Analysis assignment. Please feel free to reach out to me or any of the research librarians as you work on this assignment for further assistance.
The idea of this project is to familiarize international studies students with commonly used, credible data sources that compile and publish economic and other data that can inform one's understanding of a particular country or region. This assignment and library session are also meant to make clear that data - statistics, charts, graphs, etc. - are constructed and contextual, just like any other source you might encounter during research. In each part of the assignment, students will be asked to find and organize the data, review and analyze it, and then synthesize it given their understanding of events taking place in their countries of inquiry. In the end, comparative graphs will enable a cross-country reporting of development over the designated timeframe.
Useful Websites for Assignment
-
World Bank Open DataStatistics are available online from the World Bank with 331 indicators from the World Development Indicators (WDI) covering 214 countries from 1960 when available.
-
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)The Organization for Economic Development (OECD) provides statistics on such topics as aid, income, education, GDP, interest rates, and retirement for countries around the world.
-
UNdataStatistical databases and publications on social & demographic indicators, energy & environment, national accounts, trade, and other topics. Some content limited to subscribers only.
-
Mergent Market Atlas (This link opens in a new window)
Provides Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country and Economic analysis. Covers over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading. Formerly known as Mergent Online.
-
Statista (This link opens in a new window)Contains statistical data on a variety of topics including business, finance, politics, lifestyles, current trends, and technology. Data is pooled from a variety of sources, including government and industry databases, trade publications, and scientific journals. Also includes infographics, industry reports, studies, and topic pages. Expert tools are now part of our subscription, not including Global Survey.
-
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (This link opens in a new window)Funded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.
-
Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
-
Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Ask a Librarian
