Skip to Main Content

University Archives & Special Collections

Special Collections

Special Collections

The Library houses rare books and several unique collections including the Book of Kells facsimile, the Heritage Edition of the St. John's Bible, the John S. Sharnik Collection, the Nicholas B. Sheetz Celtic Collection, and the Walter J. Petry Collection-Nicaragua: the Sandinista Years (1979-1990). These distinctive collections are available for research and classroom use. The Book of Kells and the St. John's Bible are on permanent public display at the Library. For questions regarding access and classroom use of any material in our Special Collections, please contact the University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian.

 

Book of Kells

A facsimile edition of the Book of Kells is on permanent display in the library and available for classroom use.  A replica of the original Book of Kells housed at Trinity College in Dublin, this edition mimics the thickness of the original vellum pages, complete with text, illustrations, deletion marks, and wormholes. 

 

St. John's Bible

The seven-volume Heritage Edition of the Saint John's Bible is on permanent display in the library and available for classroom use.  As the first and only handwritten, illuminated Bible in the modern era, the St. John's Bible is a work of both theology and art; it's mix of ancient and contemporary imagery sparks discussion and reflection.

 

Walter J. Petry Collection - Nicaragua: the Sandinista Years (1979-1990)

This eclectic collection of material includes books, newspapers, journals, pamphlets, posters and objects related to the Sandinista Revolution in Nicaragua.  This unique collection was donated to the University by Walter J. Petry, Jr., Professor Emeritus, who made several trips to Nicaragua during the years 1983 through 1992.    MORE INFO

 

Nicholas B. Scheetz Celtic Collection

This collection comprises nearly 500 items representing the historical arc of Celtic literatures, and their influence on the geographic/spatial concerns of Celtic languages across the British and Irish Isles.  Featuring works in the major Celtic languages in use today, it is is an invaluable resource for all scholars of the Celtic experience.  MORE INFO

University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian

Profile Photo
Elise Bochinski
Contact:
Email: ebochinski@fairfield.edu
Phone: 203-254-4000 x2892

DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University
1073 North Benson Rd
Fairfield, CT 06824