Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Books about Arthur Szyk
Arthur Szyk by Call Number: Course Reserves N7255.P63 S98735ISBN: 9781911282082Publication Date: 2017Winner of the National Jewish Book Award, 2017 This is an indispensable publication on the life and work of the great Polish-Jewish-American artist-activist Arthur Szyk.This powerful, striking book is one for all art enthusiasts and collectors, students of World War II and Holocaust history, and the art world in general, as well as a vital tool for educators.
Arthur Szyk by Call Number: Online book and copy on Course Reserves and Folio Collection N7255 .P63 S98733 2004ISBN: 1874774943Publication Date: 2004Joseph Ansell's biography makes a singular contribution to the history of Jewish art and of Polish-Jewish relations in the first half of the twentieth century.
The Art and Politics of Arthur Szyk by Call Number: Course Reserves ND3039.S98 A4 2002ISBN: 0896047083Publication Date: 2002Hundreds of illustrations -- rendered in the artist's original brilliant colors and painstakingly intricate detail -- were drawn from private and public collections around the world. The illuminations, paintings, prints, line drawings, lithographs, posters, magazine covers, and stamps are still vibrant and compelling. The political caricatures still resonate.
Justice Illuminated: the art of Arthur Szyk by Call Number: Course Reserves ND3039.S98 A4 1999ISBN: 1583940103Publication Date: 1999
Exposition de l'oeuvre d'Arthur Szyk. Catalogue... by Call Number: Online - Open AccessPublication Date: 1922
Books authored/illustrated by Szyk in the Library's collection
Pathways Through the Bible by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780827607347Publication Date: 2002JPS first published Pathways Through the Bible in 1946, selling over 250,000 copies. It featured selections from the 1917 translation of the JPS Tanakh, bridged by narrative summaries written by Rabbi Cohen. This new edition shares the same essential features as the original, especially the core principle that Pathways Through the Bible, in Cohen's words, is not intended to replace The Holy Scriptures...it is rather to be regarded as preparatory to the reading of the Bible itself...Its purpose is to open for you pathways into the magic realm of the greatest literature ever written.
The Szyk Haggadah by Call Number: Course Reserves and Lower Level BM674.643 .S982ISBN: 9780810997455Publication Date: 2011Arthur Szyk created his magnificent Haggadah in Lodz, on the eve of the Nazi occupation of his native Poland. There is no Haggadah like it, before or since, filled with sumptuous paintings of Jewish heroes and stunning calligraphy. This edition, the first since 1940 to be reproduced from Szyk's original art, boasts a newly commissioned and extremely practical English text by Rabbi Byron L. Sherwin, ideal for use at any family Seder, and a special commentary section by Rabbi Sherwin and Irvin Ungar gives insight into both the rituals of the Seder and Szyk's rich illustrations.
Books about Political Cartoons and Caricatures
Dr. Seuss and Co. Go to War by Call Number: Course Reserves D745.2 .S25 2009ISBN: 9781595584700Publication Date: 2011Brings together over 300 cartoons from the WWII era, including over 100 by Seuss, 50 by The New Yorker's Saul Steinberg and works by Al Hirschfeld, Carl Rose and Mischa Richter. The cartoons and commentary cover the five years of the war and are divided into five chapters exploring the year leading up to the war, Hitler and Germany, Hitler's Allies, The Home Front and Germany's defeat.
Enduring Ideals by Call Number: Course Reserves ND237.R68 A4 2018ISBN: 9780789213006Publication Date: 2018Illuminates both the historic context in which FDR articulated the Four Freedoms--Freedom of Speech, Freedom of Worship, Freedom from Want, and Freedom from Fear--and the role of Rockwell's paintings in bringing them to life for millions of people, rallying the public behind the War effort and changing the tenor of the times. In addition to his celebrated paintings of the Four Freedoms, the exhibition brings together numerous other examples of painting, illustration, and more, by both Rockwell and a broad range of his contemporaries--from J.C. Leyendecker and Mead Schaeffer, to Ben Shahn, Dorothea Lange, and Gordon Parks, among others--as well as historical documents, photographs, videos, and artifacts; interactive digital displays; and immersive settings- Cartoons of World War II by Call Number: Course Reserves D745.2 .C27 2014ISBN: 1784043109Publication Date: 2014A collection of cartoons from Britain, the United States, Germany, and Russia. It contains the work of all of World War IIs greatest cartoonists, including Bill Mauldin, Fougasse, Emett, David Langdon, and Graham Laidler.
Books related to Jewish History & Antisemitism
Jewish Art in America by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level ; N6538 .J4 B347 2007ISBN: 0742546403Publication Date: 2006
American Jewish History by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1611685109Publication Date: 2014Presenting the American Jewish historical experience from its communal beginnings to the present through documents, photographs, and other illustrations. Ten chapters, organized chronologically, include source materials that highlight the major thematic questions of each era and tell many stories about what it was like to immigrate and acculturate to American life, practice different forms of Judaism, engage with the larger political, economic, and social cultures that surrounded American Jews, and offer assistance to Jews in need around the world.
Skies of Parchment, Seas of Ink: Jewish Illuminated Manuscripts by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level ; ND2935 .S59 2015ISBN: 9780691165240Publication Date: 2015Offers the first full survey of Jewish illuminated manuscripts, ranging from their origins in the Middle Ages to the present day. Featuring some of the most beautiful examples of Jewish art of all time--including hand-illustrated versions of the Bible, the Haggadah, the prayer book, marriage documents, and other beloved Jewish texts--the book introduces readers to the history of these manuscripts and their interpretation.
Jews in Poland and Russia: a Short History by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1906764395Publication Date: 2013
Social and Political History of the Jews in Poland 1919-1939 by Call Number: Online and Stacks Upper Level DS135.P6 M316 1983ISBN: 9783110838688Publication Date: 2011
The Eagle Unbowed: Poland and the Poles in the Second World War by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level D765 .K5755 2012ISBN: 9780674068148Publication Date: 2012Kochanski deftly reconstructs the world of wartime Poland in all its complexity-from collaboration to resistance, from expulsion to exile, from Warsaw to Treblinka. The Eagle Unbowed provides in a single volume the first truly comprehensive account of one of the most harrowing periods in modern history.
War and Peace in Jewish Tradition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1136625119Publication Date: 2012This book explores the concepts of war and peace throughout the history of Judaism. An important addition to the current literature on Jewish thought and philosophy, this book will be of considerable interest to scholars working in the areas of Jewish Studies, theology, modern politics, the Middle East and biblical studies.
Antisemitism by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1281147044Publication Date: 2007This Very Short Introduction examines and untangles the various strands of antisemitism seen throughout history, from medieval religious conflict to 'new' antisemitism in the 21st century. Steven Beller reveals how the phenomenon grew as a political and ideological movement in the 19th century, how it reached it its dark apogee in the worst genocide in modern history - the Holocaust - and how antisemitism still persists around the world today.
Key Concepts in the Study of Antisemitism by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 3030516571Publication Date: 2021This volume is designed to assist university faculty and students studying and teaching about antisemitism, racism, and other forms of prejudice. In contrast with similar volumes, it is organized around specific concepts instead of chronology or geography.
Books on WWII
The Second World War by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1280444495Publication Date: 2001The Second World War is a compact but comprehensive and absorbing history of the war. It examines the causes of the war, how it was won and lost, and its far-reaching consequences for humanity. In tracing the key events of both the European and the Far Eastern wars, R. A. C. Parker outlines clearly the strategies of the participants, the economies and societies that underlay them, and the strengths and weaknesses of their fighting forces. He describes the decisive battles and analyses the reasons for their outcome, paying close attention to special features of the war: mobile warfare, forced migration, the Holocaust, strategic and nuclear bombing.
Inferno: The World at War, 1939-1945 by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level ; D743 .H364 2011ISBN: 9780307273598Publication Date: 2011From one of our finest military historians, a monumental work that shows us at once the truly global reach of World War II and its deeply personal consequences.
War and Genocide by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level DD256.5 B3916 2003ISBN: 0847696308Publication Date: 2002In examining one of the defining events of the 20th century, Bergen situates the Holocaust in its historical, political, social, cultural, and military contexts. Unlike many other treatments of the Holocaust, this volume discusses not only the persecution of the Jews, but also other segments of society victimized by the Nazis.
Selected Arthur Szyk Archival Materials at the Library
To complement the current Arthur Szyk exhibit at Fairfield University’s Art Museum, the Archives and Special Collections department has created a display of some of the materials donated to the University by Irvin Ungar (on view through Dec. 20th). Items on display include magazine artwork by Arthur Szyk that demonstrates his commitment to the fight against Nazism and fascism, including covers from Collier’s magazine. Also on exhibit is a record album featuring illustrations by Arthur Szyk a 1945 edition of Hans Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales. The album cover art shows how Szyk thought Hans Christian Andersen would look if he were reading his stories to a young boy and girl and with many of the characters from his “Fairy Tales” there in person. Included in the drawings is a hidden dedication to Szyk’s granddaughter. Other items on display include playing cards and a calendar with the art of Arthur Szyk, and advertisements for other Szyk exhibits from all over the United States. In addition to the materials on display in this exhibit, Mr. Ungar generously donated many secondary sources pertaining to Arthur Szyk, his work, his art, and his life.
On display on the lower level of the Library until December 20th.
See the Finding Aid document above for the full list of items donated to the DiMenna-Nyselius Library by Irvin Ungar. Questions? Contact Elise Bochinski, University Archivist & Special Collections Librarian, ebochinkski@fairfield.edu or schedule an appointment through our form.
Library Databases to find journal articles, newspapers, magazines, etc.
- America: History & Life with Full-Text (This link opens in a new window)
Covers the history, culture, and current affairs of the United States and Canada, with citations, full-text journal articles, and books. Simultaneous user limit: 6.
- Art Full Text (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to journal articles and books on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, architecture, and more. Also searches Art Index Retrospective.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to major religion and theology journals and books. Produced by the American Theological Library Association, and now incorporates content from Catholic Periodicals and Literature Index.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (This link opens in a new window)Covers world history (excluding United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present with citations, as well as some full-text journal articles and books. Simultaneous user limit:6.
- Newspaper Source Plus (This link opens in a new window)Contains full-text access to major international and national newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
- New York Times - Historical (This link opens in a new window)Provides every issue in PDF format from 1851 (with a three year embargo). Includes news articles, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, advertisements, and more.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (This link opens in a new window)Funded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.
- Time Magazine Archive (This link opens in a new window)
A cover-to-cover format archive of Time Magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.
- U.S. History in Context (This link opens in a new window)A collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, background sources, and primary documents that covers the most-studied events and issues in U.S. history. Contains images, video, and audio files, as well as primary source material.
- World History in Context (This link opens in a new window)
A collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, background sources, and primary documents that covers world history from antiquity to the present. Contains images, video, and audio files, as well as primary source material.
Find Images
- Flickr Gallery - SzykSelected artwork from the Fairfield University Art Museum's Arthur Szyk exhibition
- ARTstor (This link opens in a new window)
A database comprised of images from some of the world's museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.
- JSTOR Blog Post - The Arthur Szyk CollectionIn 2021, scholar and author Irvin Ungar contributed the Arthur Szyk collection to Artstor/JSTOR, consisting of 500 images. The blog also includes context on the artists' life and career by Ungar and art historian Samantha Lyons, PhD.
