Find Articles
Use these selected databases to find articles on your topic:
Find Images
Library Databases
- Oxford Art Online (This link opens in a new window)This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.
Other
- ArtcyclopediaSearch or browse by art movement or artist name. Search results provide links to public galleries and museum collections, online image sources, and more.
- ArtsyBrowse through thousands of open-access images from 650+ museum, nonprofit, and gallery partners. Powered by The Art Genome Project,
- Europeana: ArtDiscover inspiring art, artists and stories in over 2 million artworks from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
- Google Arts & CultureMuseum collection search powered by Google. Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
- Open Access Image LibrariesApollo Magazine published a list of museums and archives that provide unrestricted downloads of high-resolution images that are out of copyright.
- Perseus Digital LibraryNearly 500 Greek and Latin classics in English translations, along with online dictionaries and grammar guides. Their advanced search can look up specific words in Greek, Latin, Arabic, and Old Norse, which is particularly helpful for translation classes.
- Watercolour WorldFree online database of documentary watercolours painted before 1900.
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Find Background Information
Background sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be helpful if you're not very familiar with your topic. They contain basic knowledge about a topic and can provide key terms for further searching.
General Background Sources:
- Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Discipline-Specific Background Sources:
- Oxford Art Online (This link opens in a new window)This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and ArtistsCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780191782763Publication Date: 2015
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in ArtCall Number: Reference Main Level N7560 .H34 2008Publication Date: 2007
Use Additional Online Resources
eBooks
- Met PublicationsOnline portal to The Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive art publishing program. Includes books, guides, Bulletins and Journals and out-of-print titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF for free. Publications still in-print may be previewed and fully searched online through a link to Google Books.
- Getty PublicationsFree digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives. Getty Publications produces award-winning books in the fields of art history, architecture, photography, archaeology, conservation, and the humanities. Spanning more than four decades, the Getty's publishing program draws upon the work of the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute.
Other
- Fairfield University Art MuseumThe Fairfield University Art Museum (FUAM) is a dynamic space for engagement with the visual arts on the campus of Fairfield University. In its Bellarmine Hall Galleries, FUAM presents its small but choice permanent collection of European and American paintings, drawings, prints and photographs, as well as Asian, African and Pre-Columbian objects. Objects on long-term loan include antiquities and medieval pieces from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Penn Museum, the Worcester Art Museum, and the American Numismatic Society; Asian art on loan from the Columbia University Collection; and European paintings and objects borrowed from private collections.
- Getty Research LibraryThe Research Library's resources across a broad range of physical and digital formats in a single search, including:
-Books, journals, and auction catalogs
-Archives and Special Collections (including finding aids)
-Photo Archive collection records
-Full-text articles, images, and e-books from selected databases. - International Foundation for Art Research: Educational ResourcesIFAR, an educational and research organization offers the following educational resources:
-Art Law & Cultural Property
-Catalogues Raisonnés Database
-Provenance Guide
-Collectors’ Corner - MetMuseum's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryThis interactive, geographic and chronological index of art history contains thematic essays written by Metropolitan Museum of Art curators that are both accessible and authoritative.
- SmartHistoryThe folks at Smarthistory created an online version of the large expensive Art History textbook, "using the personal voice along with multimedia to create a more engaging "web-book" that can be used in conjunction with art history survey courses."
Cite Your Sources
Working on a big project and need help with citations? Try Zotero, a citation manager that connects with your browser to save full text, organize sources, and create citations. Don't have a lot of time? You can safely generate a citation using ZoteroBib!
Find Other Resources in the Academic Commons
The Library isn't the only resource available to you! The following departments are housed in the Library, but provide different services than the Librarians do:
- The Office of Accessibility
- The Fredrickson Family Innovation Lab
- Global Fairfield
- The ITS Help Desk
- The Math Center
- The Science Center
- The Writing Center
Art History Course Guides
Course Guides are created in collaboration between your professor and a Librarian and will contain research guidance more specific to your course than this general subject guide will.
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
