Research Guides: THTR 2250 / AHST 2250: Fashion Forward: A History of Dress in Global Context (Learson): Finding Images

Finding Images through ARTSTOR a Library Database

Artstor is the most extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use. Bringing together more than 3 million images from top museums, archives, scholars, and artists -— all rights-cleared for education and research.

To download and save images you will need to create an account with your Fairfield email address. There is no cost for you to create an account.

Berg Fashion Library (This link opens in a new window)
A collection of resources related to fashion studies, including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, reference works, eBooks, museum exhibitions, images, and teaching and learning resources.
JSTOR (This link opens in a new window)
JSTOR archives images and full-text of scholarly journals.
Subscriptions include: Arts and Sciences Collections I through XV, the Ireland Collection, the Jewish Studies Collection, and the Life Sciences Collection.

Finding Images from Museum & University Websites

This list is a small selection of possible links to explore. More may be added throughout the course.

Asian Fashion Archive
A digital resource project, started by a graduate student, highlighting Asian fashion, culture, and history.
BYU Historical Clothing Collection
Brigham Young University has organized the collection by period as well as gender, and other identification.The dates of clothing artifacts are registered from the late eighteenth century through the 1990’s.
The Drexel Digital Museum Project: Historic Costume Collection
Searchable image database comprised of selected fashion from the Robert and Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection, designs loaned to the project by private collectors and costume exhibits. Users can search by a number of categories including Decade, Designer and Fabric Type.
Fashion Museum Bath
Holds a world-class collection of contemporary and historic dress.
Institute for American Indian Studies
IAIS preserves and educates through discovery and creativity the diverse traditions, vitality and knowledge of Native American cultures.
Kent State University Museum Collections
The collection goes beyond clothing and textiles to also include American glass, furniture, paintings and other decorative arts. In addition to fashions from many of the top design houses, a number of designers have left their archives of photographs and sketches to the Museum.
The Kyoto Costume Institute- - Digital Archives
The KCI Digital Archives on the KCI website presents image and text information for approx. 300 objects in the collection, arranged in chronological order.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
Collection of more than 147,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Museo de la Moda
Houses an important collection of costumes, sketches, accessories and decorative arts, reaching 17,000 pieces.
Museum of Ethnic Costumes, Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology
The first museum specializing in ethnic costumes in China. Collection of over 10,000 pieces of costume, accessories, fabric, wax printing, and embroidery. The collection is displayed in different categories, such as costumes of Miao nationality, metalworking jewelry, folk wax printing, and fabric. The museum also has a collection of nearly 1000 photographs taken during the 1920s and 1930s featuring the ethnic costumes of Yi, Zang, and Qiang nationalities.
National Museum of African American History and Culture
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.
National Museum of the American Indian
NMAI is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
The Textile Museum Collection - GW
Images from George Washington University.
Victoria & Albert Museum

Fashion Institute of Technology - Costume Websites

FIT Costume & Collections Online
Curated list of museum sites and databases.

The Fashion and Race Database

The Fashion and Race Database
Established as a space to amplify the voices of those who have been racialized (and thus marginalized) in fashion, to illuminate under-examined histories, and to address racism throughout the fashion system. The Fashion and Race Database is organized into six distinct sections:The Library; Objects that Matter; Profiles; Essays & News; The Directory; The Calendar.

Fairfield University

DiMenna-Nyselius Library

THTR 2250 / AHST 2250: Fashion Forward: A History of Dress in Global Context (Learson)

Finding Images

Finding Images through ARTSTOR a Library Database

Finding Images from Museum & University Websites

Fashion Institute of Technology - Costume Websites

The Fashion and Race Database

Main Navigation

Fairfield University

DiMenna-Nyselius Library

THTR 2250 / AHST 2250: Fashion Forward: A History of Dress in Global Context (Learson)

Finding Images

Finding Images through ARTSTOR a Library Database

Finding Images from Museum & University Websites

Fashion Institute of Technology - Costume Websites

The Fashion and Race Database