Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Keywords
Find books using the library catalog.
Keywords for your research will vary, depending on your topic. Typically searching a few important words works best for the library catalog. Some examples are below.
renaissance AND Italian
renaissance AND fashion OR clothing
Use synonyms and try searching with those terms.
Ex: fashion OR costume OR clothing
Selected Books
Reference tools such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are good places to start your research because they provide an overview of the topic as well as keywords, dates, and facts. Also don't forget to look in the library catalog (see Finding Books) for more print and electronic books on your topic.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras by Call Number: Online and Ref Main Level NX440 .A787 2005 V.1 - V.5ISBN: 0787693847Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Call Number: Reference Main Level GT507 .E54 2010 v.1 -v.10ISBN: 9780195377330Publication Date: 201010-volume set.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: Reference Main Level GT507 .E53 2005 V.1 -V. 3ISBN: 0684313944Publication Date: 2005From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline. From the secondary school student writing a paper on dress among Native Americans to the university student interested in the underpinnings of clothing design, this set represents a unique and valuable source.
The Worldwide History of Dress by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level ; GT511 .A63 2007ISBN: 9780500513637Publication Date: 2007
The Fashion and Race Database
- The Fashion and Race DatabaseEstablished as a space to amplify the voices of those who have been racialized (and thus marginalized) in fashion, to illuminate under-examined histories, and to address racism throughout the fashion system. The Fashion and Race Database is organized into six distinct sections:The Library; Objects that Matter; Profiles; Essays & News; The Directory; The Calendar.
Browsing the Collection
Actual physical browsing (in the stacks) can sometimes help you find what you didn't realize you needed. Begin by finding a record for a print book in the catalog and then browse in that Call Number range on the upper level Circulating Collection (books you can take home) and the main floor in the Reference Collection.
- Find Physical Items on the Library ShelvesTutorial to explain how to find books in the stacks and what call numbers are.
