Historical Background & Style (Websites)
- Fashion History TimelineThe Fashion Institute of Technology's open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe.
- SmartHistoryThe folks at Smarthistory created an online version of the large expensive Art History textbook, "using the personal voice along with multimedia to create a more engaging "web-book" that can be used in conjunction with art history survey courses."
- Heilbrunn TimelineThe Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. Contains world maps, timelines, thematic essays. works of art, and indexes.
Historical Background & Style (Library Databases)
- Berg Fashion Library (This link opens in a new window)
A collection of resources related to fashion studies, including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, reference works, eBooks, museum exhibitions, images, and teaching and learning resources.
- Oxford Art Online (This link opens in a new window)This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
- Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
Bloomsbury Fashion is a trial Library database and will only be available until December 13th 2023.
Selected Books
Reference tools such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are good places to start your research because they provide an overview of the topic as well as keywords, dates, and facts. Also don't forget to look in the library catalog (see Finding Books) for more print and electronic books on your topic.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras by Call Number: Online and Ref Main Level NX440 .A787 2005 V.1 - V.5ISBN: 0787693847Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Call Number: Reference Main Level GT507 .E54 2010 v.1 -v.10ISBN: 9780195377330Publication Date: 201010-volume set.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: Reference Main Level GT507 .E53 2005 V.1 -V. 3ISBN: 0684313944Publication Date: 2005From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline. From the secondary school student writing a paper on dress among Native Americans to the university student interested in the underpinnings of clothing design, this set represents a unique and valuable source.
The Worldwide History of Dress by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level ; GT511 .A63 2007ISBN: 9780500513637Publication Date: 2007
