Library Resources
You can also use the Library's Art History, History, or Latin American & Caribbean Studies Research Guides for additional resources.
Selected databases that could be useful for locating articles and book chapters:
- Oxford Bibliographies (This link opens in a new window)
Scholarly annotated bibliographies. Includes recommendations to primary sources. Subscribed subjects include: Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Education, International Law, International Relations, Latin American Studies, and Political Science.
- Art Full Text (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to journal articles and books on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, architecture, and more. Also searches Art Index Retrospective.
- Arts & Humanities Database (This link opens in a new window)
Contains scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (This link opens in a new window)Covers world history (excluding United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present with citations, as well as some full-text journal articles and books. Simultaneous user limit:6.
- Film and Television Literature Index w/ Full Text (This link opens in a new window)Provides access to journal articles, trade publications, magazines, and books on film and television studies. Includes Variety movie reviews and images.
Selected Books on Cuban Art and Cinema
Find more books using the Library Catalog.
Cuba: art and history from 1868 to today by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level N6603 .C83 2009ISBN: 9783791343945Publication Date: 2009
To and from Utopia in the New Cuban Art by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level N6603.2 .W45 2011ISBN: 9780816665150Publication Date: 2011
Women's Cinema, World Cinema: projecting contemporary feminisms by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780822358053Publication Date: 2015
Selected Books on Cuban History
A History of the Cuban Revolution by Call Number: Online and Stacks Upper Level F1788 .C465 2011ISBN: 9781405187732Publication Date: 2010
The Cuba Reader by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level F1776 .C85 2019ISBN: 9781478003649Publication Date: 2019
Cuba by Call Number: Online and Stacks Upper Level F1776 .P46 2006ISBN: 0195179129Publication Date: 2005
On Becoming Cuban: Identity, Nationality, and Culture by Call Number: Online and Stacks Upper Level F1760 .P47 1999ISBN: 1469601419Publication Date: 2012
To Die in Cuba by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level HV6548 .C88 P47 2005ISBN: 0807829374Publication Date: 2005
Heroes, martyrs, and political messiahs in revolutionary Cuba, 1946-1958Call Number: OnlineISBN: 030023533X
Selected Books on Cuban Economics
Soft Landing in Cuba? Emerging Entrepreneurs and Middle Classes by Call Number: Open ResourcePublication Date: 2013
Cuban Economists on the Cuban Economy by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780813048345Publication Date: 2013Cuban Economists on the Cuban Economy was written, in part, to reveal the rigorous research conducted within the country and to clarify the different factors that Cubans emphasize in examining their place on the world economic stage. It also provides unique insights into the island's fight against poverty, its aging population, and its trade unions. This book will be an invaluable resource for years to come.
Exhibition Brochure
Cuban Studies Journal
- Cuban Studies (online journal)Multiple library databases provide access to this journal. Click link for Referencia Latina if looking for articles published after 2015.
Cuban Studies 47 by Call Number: onlineISBN: 0822945401Publication Date: 2019-03-19Cuban Studies is the preeminent journal for scholarly work on Cuba. Each volume includes articles in English and Spanish and a large book review section. Cuban Studies 47 includes a dossier on cultural politics and political cultures of the Cuban Revolution.
Background Info on Cuba and Cuban Art
- Republic of Cubalinks to the library database, Oxford Art Online
- Cubalinks to the library database, Britanica Academic
Finding Images of Cuban Art
- ARTstor (This link opens in a new window)
A database comprised of images from some of the world's museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.
Use the Advanced Search. Select Cuba from the Geography field.
Highlighted Collections of Primary & Secondary sources
- Digital Library of the CaribbeanLinks to the dLOC Cuba Collection
- Library of CongressLinks to subject search for Cuba.
Can't find what you need?
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
