Library Resources
You can also use the Library's Art History Research Guide for additional art resources.
Databases for finding Articles & Book Chapters
Use the following library databases to search for articles and book chapters relating to the exhibition.
- Art Full Text (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to journal articles and books on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, architecture, and more. Also searches Art Index Retrospective.
- Arts & Humanities Database (This link opens in a new window)
Contains scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (This link opens in a new window)
From the Getty Research Institute, a selection of European and American visual arts materials published between 1975 and 2007. Also includes Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'art (RILA).
Biographical Information on Auguste René Rodin (1840 – 1917)
- Chronology of Rodin's LifeCreated by the Musée Rodin.
Books & Ebooks on Rodin
Find books using the Library Catalog. Browse these subject headings to get general information related to the exhibition.
Selected list of books & ebooks
Auguste Rodin by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level NC248 .R58 A4 2007ISBN: 0500238359Publication Date: 2007From the "black" drawings contemporaneous with the Gates of Hell to his great watercolor nudes, this book reproduces hundreds of Auguste Rodin's most beautiful graphic works held in the collection of the Musée Rodin, a number of which are published here for the first time. The accompanying essays analyze the complex relationships between Rodin's drawings and his sculptures, the problems of attribution, and the role of sensuality in his work.Rodin's rich graphic oeuvre has until now been a little-known aspect of his art, yet it is crucial to a full understanding of his work. This book will be essential reading for anyone interested in the great sculptor's achievements.
Rodin by Call Number: Folio Collection Upper Level N6853 .R63 A4 1997ISBN: 3791318098Publication Date: 1997Rodin's discourse on the erotic is considered in this book, accompanied by black and white photographs of each sculptural piece, taken from multiple angles, to highlight selective details.
Rodin's Art by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780198030614Publication Date: 2003This reference/catalogue, written by the late Dr. Elsen, encompasses a lifetime's thoughts on Rodin's career, surveying the artist's accomplishments through the detailed discussion of each object in the collection. It begins with essays on the formation of the collection, the reception of Rodin's work, and his casting techniques.
Auguste Rodin by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781783102839Publication Date: 2012In essays as revealing of their author as they are of their subject, Rilke examines Rodin's life and work, and explains the often elusive connection between the creative forces that drive great literature and art.
Rodin by Call Number: Compact Stacks Lower Level NB553 .R7 A4 1986ISBN: 0300038321Publication Date: 1987Traces the development of the artistic techniques and subjects of Auguste Rodin and examines the cross-fertilization between his drawing and sculpture.
Rodin in Perspective by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level NB553.R7 R69ISBN: 0137823266Publication Date: 1980- The Sculpture of Auguste Rodin by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level NB553.R7T25ISBN: 0876330189Publication Date: 1989
- Rodin and His Contemporaries by Call Number: Folio Collection Upper Level NB553.R7 A4 1991ISBN: 1558593640Publication Date: 1992
Rodin on Art and ArtistsCall Number: OnlineISBN: 0486156788Publication Date: 2012The greatest sculptor of the nineteenth century discusses his philosophy of life with a close friend in this fascinating and informative artistic testament. Auguste Rodin spoke candidly to his protégé, Paul Gsell, who recorded the master's thoughts not only about the technical secrets of his craft, but also about its aesthetic and philosophical underpinnings. Here is the real Rodin--relaxed, intimate, open, and charming--offering a wealth of observations on the relationship of sculpture to poetry, painting, theater, and music. He also makes perceptive comments on Rembrandt, Michelangelo, Raphael, and other great artists, and he shares revealing anecdotes about Hugo, Balzac, and others who posed for him. Seventy-six superb illustrations of the sculptor's works complement the text, including St John the Baptist Preaching, The Burghers of Calais, The Thinker, and many others, along with a selection of exuberant drawings and prints.- Rodin and the art of ancient GreeceCall Number: Stacks Upper Level NB553.R7 A4 2018ISBN: 2017958128Publication Date: 2018Rodin, famous for 'The thinker' and 'The kiss', was captivated by the sculptures of Classical antiquity and he constantly reworked and assimilated the forms of ancient Greek and Roman art in his own work. Rodin visited the British Museum for the first time in the summer of 1881 and there greatly admired the sculptures of the Parthenon. Before he saw the originals, he was already acquainted with plaster casts of them displayed in the École des Beaux-Arts, Paris. The Parthenon sculptures continued to be a major influence on his own work and he visited them frequently on his return visits to London. He also amassed a huge collection of fragments of ancient sculpture that served as a source of inspiration.
- Rodin : sex and the making of modern sculpture by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level NB553.R7 G48 2010ISBN: 2010021334Publication Date: 2010During his lifetime, Auguste Rodin's name became synonymous with modern sculpture. It aslo became linked with sex. Rodin came to emphasize the importance of desire and the sexual as the markers of his individual perspective, using them to fuel his increasingly daring treatments of the nude. Bodily passion became the primary means through which he sought to make sculpture evocative, expressive, and universally appealing. The author examines these developments by focusing on two pivotal moments in Rodin's career: first, 1876, the year his work is catalyzed through an engagement with Michelangelo; and, second, 1900, the year of the one-person exhibition that catapulted him to international public notoriety.
- The Romantics to Rodin: French nineteenth-century sculpture from North American collections by Call Number: Compact Stacks Lower Level NB547 .R65ISBN: 0875870910Publication Date: 1980
Books & Articles about posthumous casts & artistic originality
- The ancient art of emulation : studies in artistic originality and tradition from the present to classical antiquity by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level N8580 .A53 2002ISBN: 2002067109Publication Date: 2002
- Parigoris, Alexandra. "Truth to Material: Bronze, on the Reproducibility of Truth" (1997): 131-151.Google Books link to Sculpture and Its Reproductions edited by Anthony Hughes, Erich Ranfft
Books on Sculpture
Find more books using the Library Catalog. Browse these subject headings for search results related to sculpture and materiality.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by ISBN: 9780195313918Publication Date: 2008-10-06
Modelling and Sculpture by Call Number: onlineISBN: 048614528XPublication Date: 2012A celebrated sculptor discusses every practical detail, including modelling a portrait bust; casting; modelling for terra-cotta, in relief, and for bronze; and modelling in clay. 36 plates. 82 line illustrations.
Rodin Collections
Selected Book Chapters & Articles
- The Naked Nude by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level N7572 .B67 2012Publication Date: 2012See chapter: "After Rodin, is there anything left to say?'
Can't find what you need?
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Rodin in His Time (Film)
Film available through Library database, Films on Demand
Rodin in His Time
"The 19th century is like no other: an aesthetic, scientific and political bubbling is changing the face of the world. Paris is a genuine cultural hub. An intellectual and artistic elite was formed including Auguste Rodin. Bold and gifted, he and others altered this era forever. Rodin’s destiny is both singular and closely context related. Fed by a public and private correspondence, this film will draw the strands of his life and reminds the background when required. However, it will be anything but a commemoration: Rodin is still alive because eternal. In Paris, his sculptures are an integral part of the urban decor: The Penseur and Balzac at Varenne subway station, the D’Alembert at the town Hall… Through constant back and forth between past and present, this film is about Rodin’s spirit, forever among us."
Contents:
Rodin and Modernity (5:55); Rodin the Apprentice (4:49); "The Gates of Hell" (3:34); Rodin's Personal Life (4:36); Rodin's Growing Fame (7:18); Balzac Monument (7:44); Rodin and his Students (2:23); Rodin's Continued Success (5:59); Rodin's Creative Concept (8:44); Credits: Rodin In His Time (0:57);
