Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Reference tools such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are good places to start your research because they provide an overview of the topic as well as keywords, dates, and facts.
-
Oxford Art Online (This link opens in a new window)This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.
-
Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
Tips: Try looking at the bibliography at the end of the entry for a list of other sources such as relevant journal articles and books. When you have found books on your topic, look at the books on the shelf nearby to see if they are related to your topic.
-
Art and Architecture of Ireland. Volume 1. Medieval c.400-c.1600
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781908996626Publication Date: 2014-2015 -
Atlas of the Celtic World
by
Call Number: Reference Main Level D70 .H34 2001ISBN: 0500051097Publication Date: 2001A historical atlas charting the Celts from their origins in the Bronze Age to their present-day diaspora, with colour maps supported by text and illustrations. It deals separately with Continental, Atlantic and Modern Celts, taking into consideration the latest research and academic controversies. -
-
The concise Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide for both students and the general reader. Over 6,000 entries provide authoritative coverage of theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations across the world, canon law, and the church calendar, as well as entries on theologians, philosophers, artists, musicians, and mystics. -
A Dictionary of Irish Saints
by
Call Number: Reference Main Level BX4659.I7 O737 2011ISBN: 9781846823183Publication Date: 2011A Dictionary of Irish Saints serves as a guide to the (mainly documentary) sources of information on the saints named in these dedications. -
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World
by
Call Number: Reference Main Level CB351 .E53 2008 V.1 -V.4ISBN: 9780816069361Publication Date: 2008The four-volume set provides readers with comprehensive coverage of the medieval world, from the fall of Rome to the European Renaissance, including Western and non-Western cultures and civilizations. Following an introduction that outlines the history of the major centers of civilization, this authoritative set features 71 alphabetical entries that explore specific topics - such as architecture, economy, art, and the military - followed by subsections on Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the Islamic World. These insightful entries - including 12 on ""major"" topics with more in-depth coverage - allow readers to compare and contrast events in different areas of the world with ease. Key articles are supported by primary source documents, and a list of further reading complements each entry. -
The Grove encyclopedia of medieval art and architecture
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0195395379Publication Date: 2012Covers all aspects of art and architecture from Medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century. Drawing upon the expansive scholarship in the celebrated Grove Dictionary of Art and adding hundreds of new entries on topics not previously covered, as well as fully updated and expanded entries and bibliographies, The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture offers students, researchers, and the general public a reliable, up-to-date, and convenient resource covering this field of major importance in the development of Western history and international art and architecture. -
Medieval Ireland
by
Call Number: Reference Main Level DA933 .M43 2005ISBN: 0415940524Publication Date: 2005Presenting the culture and society of Ireland between the 6th and 16th centuries, this text represents a comprehensive overview of the country during this period. -
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
by
Call Number: Reference Main Level D114 .O94 2010 V.1-4Publication Date: 2010
General Online Sources
-
Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
-
Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
-
Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) (This link opens in a new window)
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, this historical dictionary provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words traced through quotations from classic literature to contemporary and popular works. Also includes the Oxford Historical Thesaurus, timelines of words, and provides the ability to browse words by subject, usage, region, or origin.
