Hello! This Library course guide has been created for students enrolled in an INTL 1050: People, Places, and Global Issues course. In this guide, you will find resources intended to help with your research coursework.

• Research Tutorials
  • Brainstorm Key Terms for a Search - Learn how to formulate a research question based on a topic, and generate keywords that can be used in the Library's catalog and databases.
  • Combining Search Terms into Search Strings - Use this guide for advanced tips and tricks for editing your search string for better results.
  • Source Types and Evaluating Sources - Learn how to find peer-reviewed and scholarly articles in the Library's catalog.
  • Assess Website Quality & Reliability - Outlines five criteria for assessing the quality and reliability of websites.
  • Write an Annotated Bibliography - Review the steps involved in writing an annotated bibliography.
• Research Guides - These guides provide lists of the best databases and library resources to use based on subject area. Clicking on 'Research Guides' will bring you to a list of guides for all disciplines. In the drop-down menu I've singled out a few guides relevant to your course.
• News Resources - This page contains tips for searching for news sources as well as recommendations for some news websites and news aggregating websites.
• Global Issues Resources - This page contains links to helpful resources on global issues, including many issue-specific resources.
• Citation Resources
  • Chicago (Author-Date) Style Guide - An easy-to-use guide on Chicago (Author-Date) citation guidelines, including in-text citations, references, and general formatting standards.
  • Use a Citation Generator Safely - Many of our databases provide tools that generate citations for sources found in them. This guide provides an overview of where those tools are usually found (it varies between databases), and a few things to keep in mind when using them.
  • Write an Annotated Bibliography - Annotations provide context as to why sources in your bibliography are relevant and informative for your topic. Check out our guide to learn how to write them with confidence!