Find Background Information
General Background Sources:
- Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Discipline-Specific Background Sources:
Encyclopaedia of Islam, 3rd Ed.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: Ongoing
Covers all aspects of the Islamic world: religion, history, culture, people. The third edition is an entirely new work from the previous editions. Please note: Because this encyclopedia has gone through enormous changes during its time in publication, you'll need to make sure you correctly cite the edition you used. For help citing different editions, check out our citation guides.
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American HistoryCall Number: Reference Main Level E184.M88 E876 2010Publication Date: 2010
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and ArchitectureCall Number: Reference Main Level N6260 .G75 2009Publication Date: 2009
The Literature of IslamCall Number: Online and Stacks Lower Level BP161.3 .S585 2006Publication Date: 2006
The New Cambridge History of Islam by Call Number: Online and Stacks Upper Level DS35.6 .C3 2010Publication Date: 2010
Additional Background Sources
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought by ISBN: 9780691134840Publication Date: 2012-11-11
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world by
This reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today's Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0028664418Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world by Publication Date: 2009
