Find Background Info
- Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
- Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
Find Biographical Info
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index (This link opens in a new window)
Indexes the names of prominent historical and contemporary people, with references to books where biographical information may be found.
- Biography In Context (This link opens in a new window)
Biographical articles from reference sources, journals, and magazines. Contains images, video, and audio files, as well as primary source material.
- Biography Reference Bank (This link opens in a new window)
Biographical articles from reference sources such as Current Biography, World Authors, and the Junior Authors & Illustrators series, plus periodical coverage of Biography Index.
- Biography Reference Center (This link opens in a new window)Biographical articles from reference sources such as American National Biography and Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography.
Find Current Issues Info
- CQ Researcher (This link opens in a new window)
Reporting and analysis of domestic and international issues in the news. Reports include background and chronology; tables and maps; and a pro-con debate.
- Global Issues in Context (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to international newspapers, primary source documents, country information, statistics, background sources, and videos that support global awareness to help with understanding current world issues.
- Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society (This link opens in a new window)
Covers hot-button issues and contemporary topics in crime & justice, education, health & medicine, and more. Includes historical background and contemporary perspectives from a variety of primary and secondary sources, as well as images.
Find Magazines and Newspapers
The Library provides current, free-to-you access to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chronicle of Higher Education. Click here for info on how to create accounts with all three!
Newspapers with Both Current and Historical Coverage
- Nation Archive (This link opens in a new window)Contains all issues of The Nation, beginning with its first in 1865 to the present. Articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles are included.
- Newspaper Source Plus (This link opens in a new window)Contains full-text access to major international and national newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (This link opens in a new window)Funded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.
- US Newsstream (This link opens in a new window)Enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Newspapers With Only Historical Coverage
- African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998 (This link opens in a new window)
A full-text collection of newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- Connecticut Historical Newspapers (This link opens in a new window)A collection of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers published in Connecticut. Content includes general news, election returns, legislative acts, letters, poetry, shipping news, and advertisements.
- New York Times - Historical (This link opens in a new window)Provides every issue in PDF format from 1851 (with a three year embargo). Includes news articles, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, advertisements, and more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (This link opens in a new window)Access to digitized issues of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1922. Access to 1992-Present is available in U.S. Newsstream.
- Chronicling AmericaAn Internet-based, searchable database of historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages being developed and maintained by the Library of Congress. Digitized material currently covers the historic period 1756-1963.
Magazines with Both Current and Historical Coverage
- Academic Search Premier (This link opens in a new window)
This multidisciplinary database contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, and videos.
Magazines With Only Historical Coverage
- Life Magazine Archive (This link opens in a new window)
Collection of cover-to-cover format archives of Life Magazine, from the very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
- Sports Illustrated Archive (This link opens in a new window)
A cover-to-cover format archive of Sports Illustrated Magazine, from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000.
- Time Magazine Archive (This link opens in a new window)
A cover-to-cover format archive of Time Magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.
Can't find what you need?
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Find Statistics and Datasets
Need to find statistics and/or datasets for a project? Check out our statistics & datasets guide!
This guide contains Library databases, reliable websites, books, and eBooks that can provide statistics and datasets in a wide variety of disciplines and topics.
