Library Databases for Background Information
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Oxford Art Online (This link opens in a new window)This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.
- Oxford Bibliographies (This link opens in a new window)
Scholarly annotated bibliographies. Includes recommendations to primary sources. Subscribed subjects include: Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Education, International Law, International Relations, Latin American Studies, and Political Science.
Reference Books for Historical Context
Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world : Antiquity by Call Number: Reference Main Level DE5 .N4813 V.1-15Publication Date: 2011
A Companion to Greek Art by Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level N5630 .C716 2012 v. 1 & 2Publication Date: 2012
The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome by Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level DE59 .E3 2006Publication Date: 2006
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites by Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level DE59.P7ISBN: 0691035423Publication Date: 1976
Reference Books for Iconography & Symbolism
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)Call Number: Reference Main Level N7760.L49 1981 V.1-8Publication Date: 1981Covers the iconography of Greek, Etruscan & Roman Mythology from the Mycenean period to the beginnings of early Christianity. It aims to be exhaustive.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by Call Number: Reference Main Level N7560 .H34 2008Publication Date: 2008A source that explains symbols and illustrates their use. Other helpful symbolism resources include the Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern & Western Art: Ref. N 7740 .H35 1994, Gods and Heroes in Art: Ref. N 7760 .I4713 2002, and Symbols and Allegories in Art: Ref N 7740 .B2913 2005.
The Cambridge companion to Greek Mythology by Call Number: Stacks Lower Level BL783 .C36 2007ISBN: 9780521845205Publication Date: 2007
The Routledge Handbook of Greek MythologyCall Number: OnlineISBN: 1317228073Publication Date: 2019Offers a comprehensive survey of the stories of Greek myth, from the Olympian gods, through the lesser gods and deities, to the heroes, adventures, and foundation myths of the ancient Greek world.
Polychromy & Color Studies
- Chroma: Ancient Sculpture in ColorExhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Gods in Color by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level NB1275 .G63 2017ISBN: 9783791357072Publication Date: 2017
Chromatopia by Call Number: Reserves at Library Services Desk Main Level ; ND1488 .C65 2018ISBN: 9781760760021Publication Date: 2019
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and (RILA)
The Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules for BHA and RILA, and they can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.
- Bibliography of the History of Artis the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
including articles from over 1,200 journals. Access provided by the Getty Museum.
