Kress Collection Digital Archives
The Kress Collection Digital Archive virtually unites objects in the Kress Collection and illustrates their history, acquisition, condition and care, and distribution. Data and digitized archival materials document the development of a collection of more than 3,000 works of European art amassed by Samuel H. Kress and his foundation, and then donated to over 95 art and educational institutions throughout the United States.
The Kress Collection Digital Archive, a project of the National Gallery of Art Gallery Archives that was generously funded by the Samuel H. Kress Foundation, promotes understanding of the history and development of the Kress Collection in the larger context of the history of the National Gallery of Art and culture in the United States.
Featured Artists in the Exhibition
The following links direct to the Library database, Oxford Art Online, or if biographical information was not available, to the Getty Union List of Artist Names.
Background Sources
- Oxford Art Online (This link opens in a new window)This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Call Number: Online and in print Ref. CB361 .C27 2003ISBN: 0198601751Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art by Call Number: Reference Stacks Main Level ; N6370 .Z57 2016ISBN: 9781442264663Publication Date: 2016
