Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES
The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below
More details here. →
Textbooks & Curriculum Development
American Institute of Mathematics Approved Textbooks
Open textbooks for mathematics that have met the criteria as set by the American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) editorial board.
BC Open Campus
BC Open Campus is a collection of open textbooks in highly enrolled subject areas created under the auspices of the government of British Columbia.
European eBook publisher with 1000+ textbooks freely available to download. E-books are primarily in business/economics, engineering/natural sciences and IT.
College Open Textbooks
College Open Textbooks is a project of the Silicon Valley Education Foundation and the Open Doors Group. The focus is on materials for the first two years of college.
Directory of Open Access Books
Directory of Open Access Books is an organization dedicated to increasing the discoverability of Open Access books and has resources in a variety of disciplines.
Global Text Project
Global Text Project is an initiative through the University of Georgia publishing open content electronic textbooks.
IntechOpen Open Access Books
A large collection of peer-reviewed open access texts in science, technology, mathematics, and the social sciences.
MIT Open Courseware Online Textbooks
MIT Open Courseware Online Textbooks library of online textbooks is one of the few sources for OER on aeronautics, civil engineering and material science, among many other disciplines.
OpenBook Publishers is a collection of resources in a variety of disciplines that may be usable as supplemental or primary resources.
OpenStax by Rice University has open resources in math, science, social science, and humanities.
Open Textbook Library
Open Textbook Library at the University of Minnesota, supported by the Open Textbook Network of major universities.
Saylor Academy is a collection of online resources and textbooks in a variety of disciplines.
State University of New York (SUNY) Open Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks for use in higher education.
Creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of open textbooks and ancillary materials to college-level students.
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Student Textbooks on Reserve @ the Library
Students are encouraged to donate their old textbooks, or any required class texts (like paperbacks), to the DiMenna-Nyselius Library for a new Student Donated Textbook Reserves Collection. The books in this collection can be borrowed by any Fairfield University student for in-library use.
Books can be dropped off to the Library Services & Information Desk. A green donation form must be filled out so that we know which classes the books were assigned for.
The general repositories have textbooks as well as learning objects, practice exercises, instructional videos, modules, free interactive math and science simulations, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, and more.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
This resource managed by the California State University system is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
A large repository of materials that allows the user to search and identify resources by discipline and level.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER)
The CCCOER offers a comprehensive list of places to find OERs, including OER Repositories, Open Textbooks, Books, Open Courseware, Open Access Journals, and more.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 98 different sources and contains 368,234 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Open Education Consortium
The Open Education Consortium (OEC) is a non-profit, global, members-based network of open education institutions and organizations…. OEC works with its members to build capacity to find, reuse, create and share Open Educational Resources (OER), develop open policy, create sustainable open education models, and enable international collaboration and innovation.
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
OpenLearn, The Open University
OpenLearn is a free learning platform, with courses that focus on academic, skills and career and personal development (CPD) topics.