Open Access
Understanding Open Access 
A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access by Peter Suber
What Faculty can do to Support Open Access?
DigitalCommons@Fairfield
A service of the Library that offers open access to the collected scholarship and creative works of Fairfield University faculty, students and staff. Learn more: http://digitalcommons.fairfield.edu
SHERPA/RoMEO
Want to find out what your favorite journal's open access policy is? Search for the journal title in SHERPA/RoMEO to find out what you are permitted to do with your article post-publication.
Green: archive pre-print, post-print or publisher's PDF
Blue: post-print (final draft post-refereeing) or publisher's PDF
Yellow: pre-print (pre-refereeing)
White: Archiving not formally supported
Remember that you can ALWAYS ask to retain the right to self-archive your article!
Open Access Directories & Repositories
General
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Directory of peer-reviewed journals that operate with an open access model, ie articles are freely available to anyone.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN)
Aggregates high-quality academic research by aggregating peer-reviewed Open Access publications from across Europe.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.
Humanities
Open Humanities Press
Open Access Press that publishes peer-reviewed monographs and journals in the humanities.
Perseus Digital Library
Covers the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Sciences
arXiv.org
Access to 791,125 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals in a variety of scientific disciplines.
Aquatic Commons
The Aquatic Commons is a thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and freshwater environments.
Social Sciences
Social Science Research Network
Contains an abstract database (448,000 working papers) and an electronic paper collection (362,000 full text pdfs).
IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research
Contains 1,200,000 items, part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc.
Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics (AgEcon)
Contains working papers, conference papers and journal articles in applied economics, including the subtopics of agricultural, consumer, energy, environmental, and resource economics.
Author's Rights Resources from Scholarly Publishing and Resources Coalition (SPARC)
SPARC Author Rights Initiative: Great starting place to explore author's rights issues.
* Posting the article on a personal or institutional Website
* Creating derivative works
Community Engaged Scholarship
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Journals (SoTL)
The Kennesaw State University Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) has developed an extensive list of SoTL journals. The searchable directory is on the right-hand side of the page.
Kennesaw State University CETL Teaching Journals Directory
Journals - Calls for Articles and Editors
Community Engagement | Community Engagement - Editors
Service Learning | Service Learning - Editors
Campus Community Partnership for Health
CES4Health was launched by Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH) in November 2009 as a free online source of peer-reviewed products of community-engaged scholarship. CES4Health peer-reviews, publishes, and disseminates products of community-engaged scholarship that are not journal articles - videos, curricula, policy reports, digital stories and online toolkits, for example.
CES Journals - Partial List
Collaborations: A Journal of Community-Based Research and Practice
Engaged Scholar Journal: Community-Engaged Research, Teaching, and Learning
EPiCHE Journal Engaging Pedagogies in Catholic Higher Education
Gateways: International Journal of Community Research and Engagement
International Journal of Research on Service-Learning and Community Engagement
International Journal of Research on Service-Learning in Teacher Education
Journal for Civic Commitment (no longer publishing - archive only)
Journal of Community Engagement and Higher Education
Journal of Community Engagement and Scholarship
Journal of Experiential Education
Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement
Journal of Service Learning in Higher Education
Metropolitan Universities Journal
Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning
Partnerships: A Journal of Service-Learning and Civic Engagement
Undergraduate Journal of Service Learning and Community-Based Research
Journals Often Publishing Community Engaged Scholarship:
