The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below
There are times when library users want to locate and browse a specific journal, or to determine whether the library has full-text access to a specific journal article. The purpose of this guide is to describe these process of accessing these items using the library website. There are many situations where users may need to implement this process:
Through this guide you will learn to...
Below is an example of a scholarly article that we will locate using the library website. If you are interested in locating a journal and not a specific article, you can move on to the next step.
If you are searching for an article, be sure that you have all of the citation information needed. If you have a citation for the article you likely have all that you need to move on to the next step. If not, try using Google to search for the article title, very often among the top results will be a publisher or vendor webpage for it.
Starting on the library homepage, select the Journals tab above the search box. This allows you to search for a specific journal. In the search box, type the title of the journal you're interested in browsing, or the journal where your specific article was published. Be sure that everything is correctly spelled, or else you will obtain zero search results.
After running a search for the title of the journal you will be brought to a set of results. You may see other journals with similar titles, so be sure to select the correct journal. If you do not see your journal, or the journal where your article was published, and you've verified the correct spelling, it means we do not have full-text access to the journal. Those who would like to browse a journal we do not currently have access to should contact a Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org. If you are searching for a specific article, you can request the article using the InterLibrary Loan process.
If you see the journal you are looking for, click on the title.
After clicking on the title of the journal a box will appear that looks like the screenshot below. The key information to look for is within the Full text availability area. In here you will see one or more databases with date ranges below them. These are the databases that have full-text availability for the journal, the date range describes the timeframe available in full-text.
If you are interested in browsing a journal, select the database that has the largest date range, or has access to the timeframe you're interested in. If you are looking for a specific journal, select a database that has a date range within which your article falls.
If none of our databases have the date range needed, articles can be requested via the InterLibrary Loan process.
Visually, the process differs once a database is selected. Some journals are accessed through a vendor such as ProQuest or EBSCO, others will have you access them directly through their own website. In general, though, the process is the same. The screenshots from this point onward are for a journal found in EBSCO. Please keep in mind that the general structure of this process is the same even if the aesthetics or layout of websites differs.
If you would like to browse the journal, click the Search within this publication option. This will bring you to a set of search boxes with one of them pre-filled. The pre-filled box instructs the database to only search within that journal, allowing you to use the other search boxes to search through the journal using keywords.
If you are looking for a specific article, there is usually an area of the website that organizes the journal by year or by volume and issue. Use the information in your citation to navigate to the issue in which the desired article is published. Those who are searching for a specific article should continue to the next step.
Once a specific volume and issue have been selected, the specific articles published within that issue will be listed. Search for the title of the article. Depending on how many articles are published within an issue and how many display per page of results, the desired article may not be found on the first page.
A full-text PDF of the article may be obtainable from the results page, as is the case in the screenshot below. If you do not see an option to download the full-text, click on the title of the article to be brought to a page with more details about the article.
Success! Again, the information and layout of this page will differ depending on the journal and the way in which it's accessed. The option to download the full-text may be on the left- or right-hand side, or along the top. It may say 'Full Text PDF' or 'Download PDF'.
Also note that many database provide a suite of tools that may be useful. For example, EBSCO provides the ability to e-mail the full-text to someone or yourself, generate a citation for the article in any number of styles, export it to a citation manager such as Zotero or Refworks, or obtain a permalink for the article that can be shared to students or colleagues.