Research Guides: FNCE 3340: ESG Investing (Farlekas): Company Analysis and Investment Recommendation Resources

Find Company Financials

Library Databases

AtoZdatabases (This link opens in a new window)
Contains business profiles, residential listings, career advice, and more. Used to find employment information, market research, and demographic data.
Business Insights: Essentials (This link opens in a new window)
Provides information on U.S. and international companies, industries and products.
Contains investment research reports, SWOT reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry research reports, company histories, key competitors, and full-text articles from journals and news reports.
Mergent Online (This link opens in a new window)
Provides financial details of active and inactive public companies plus private and international companies. Includes annual reports, industry reports, executive profiles, Mergent equity research reports, and global equity pricing data. Simultaneous user limit: 35.
Morningstar Investment Research Center (This link opens in a new window)
Offers real-time access to trading data and independent analysis on investments, including mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. With portfolio tools and calculators, investment articles, and videos. Simultaneous user limit: 2.
Value Line (This link opens in a new window)
Provides research, data, analysis, information, and advice on stocks, options, securities, industries, stock market, and the economy. Includes ratings and reports, summary and index, selection and opinion, and the Value Line Investment Survey. Simultaneous user limit: 6.

Other

SEC - Beginner's Guide to Financial Statement
A breakdown of key financial terms.
SEC EDGAR Database
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission database.

Domestic Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States (This link opens in a new window)
Provides a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is culled from a variety of governmental resources.
Social Explorer (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to historical census data and demographic information. Visualize and interact with the data by creating maps, charts, and reports. Includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and more.

Economics Statistics Briefing Room
A single easy-to-use US government source for current data on basic economic indicators. Statistics are organized into 8 categories: Employment, Income, International, Money, Output, Prices, Production and Transportation.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED II is a database of over 1000 U.S. economic series. Data can be downloaded in Microsoft Excel and text formats. Includes all major economic statistics produced by the US government.

NBER Working Papers (This link opens in a new window)
From the National Bureau of Economic Research, a selection of recent news and research articles made available in a preliminary form. Topics include business and management, national security, law, health care, and insurance.

Find Industry Information

Library Databases

Key Business Ratios (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to competitive benchmarking data compiled from Dun & Bradstreet’s database of public and private companies.
Data may be used to evaluate the performance and stability of a business through solvency ratios, efficiency ratios, and profitability ratios. Historical data is available.
Mergent Online (This link opens in a new window)
Provides financial details of active and inactive public companies plus private and international companies. Includes annual reports, industry reports, executive profiles, Mergent equity research reports, and global equity pricing data. Simultaneous user limit: 35.
Morningstar Investment Research Center (This link opens in a new window)
Offers real-time access to trading data and independent analysis on investments, including mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. With portfolio tools and calculators, investment articles, and videos. Simultaneous user limit: 2.
Value Line (This link opens in a new window)
Provides research, data, analysis, information, and advice on stocks, options, securities, industries, stock market, and the economy. Includes ratings and reports, summary and index, selection and opinion, and the Value Line Investment Survey. Simultaneous user limit: 6.

Find Demographic/Consumer Information

Library Databases

AtoZdatabases (This link opens in a new window)
Contains business profiles, residential listings, career advice, and more. Used to find employment information, market research, and demographic data.
Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to Claritas 360, an application that allows for analysis of customer data and markets using Claritas PRIZM segment descriptions and narratives. For more information, click here.
Social Explorer (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to historical census data and demographic information. Visualize and interact with the data by creating maps, charts, and reports. Includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and more.
Statista (This link opens in a new window)
Contains statistical data on a variety of topics including business, finance, politics, lifestyles, current trends, and technology. Data is pooled from a variety of sources, including government and industry databases, trade publications, and scientific journals. Also includes infographics, industry reports, studies, and topic pages. Expert tools are now part of our subscription, not including Global Survey.
Expert tools include Consumer Market Outlook, Digital Market Outlook, Company Database, Publication Finder, and Business Plan Export.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (This link opens in a new window)
Provides a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is culled from a variety of governmental resources.

Other

Census.gov
Find business and industry information compiled by the United States government. Topics include population, education, housing, education, business, trade, employment and economy.
Market Share Reporter
Compilation of reported market share data on companies, products and services.
Available online through Business Insights Essentials database.

International Statistics

IMF eLibrary (This link opens in a new window)
Provides direct access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.

Principal Global Indicators - hosted by the International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The PGI website presents downloadable data for the Group of 20 (G-20) to facilitate the monitoring of economic and financial developments for these systemically important economies. Click on the Select Dimensions icon and then Time Period Selection to select the time period you need.
World Bank Open Data
Access to global development data from 189 member countries. Includes time series data on a variety of topics.

Mergent Online (This link opens in a new window)
Provides financial details of active and inactive public companies plus private and international companies. Includes annual reports, industry reports, executive profiles, Mergent equity research reports, and global equity pricing data. Simultaneous user limit: 35.
Statista (This link opens in a new window)
Contains statistical data on a variety of topics including business, finance, politics, lifestyles, current trends, and technology. Data is pooled from a variety of sources, including government and industry databases, trade publications, and scientific journals. Also includes infographics, industry reports, studies, and topic pages. Expert tools are now part of our subscription, not including Global Survey.
Expert tools include Consumer Market Outlook, Digital Market Outlook, Company Database, Publication Finder, and Business Plan Export.

Eurostat Statistics
European statistics on economics and finance, industry and trade, population and social conditions, agriculture, energy, environment, science and technology.

Fairfield University

DiMenna-Nyselius Library

FNCE 3340: ESG Investing (Farlekas): Company Analysis and Investment Recommendation Resources

Find Company Financials

Domestic Statistics

Find Industry Information

Find Demographic/Consumer Information

International Statistics

Main Navigation

Fairfield University

DiMenna-Nyselius Library

FNCE 3340: ESG Investing (Farlekas): Company Analysis and Investment Recommendation Resources

Find Company Financials

Domestic Statistics

Find Industry Information

Find Demographic/Consumer Information

International Statistics