Background Information on People, Places, Time Periods, Terms
-
Biography In Context (This link opens in a new window)
Biographical articles from reference sources, journals, and magazines. Contains images, video, and audio files, as well as primary source material.
-
Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
-
Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
-
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols and Ideas (This link opens in a new window)Contains information on popular culture in America, both past and present. Includes cultural overview essays broken down by decade and provides images, maps, and videos. Includes primary sources.
-
Social Explorer (This link opens in a new window)Provides access to historical census data and demographic information. Visualize and interact with the data by creating maps, charts, and reports. Includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and more.
-
U.S. History in Context (This link opens in a new window)A collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, background sources, and primary documents that covers the most-studied events and issues in U.S. history. Contains images, video, and audio files, as well as primary source material.
News - Historical and Current
The Library provides access to various newspapers such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, America: The Jesuit Review, and The Chronicle of Higher Ed. Each current member of the Fairfield U student body, faculty, and staff is given the opportunity to claim their own free digital subscription to these publications, eliminating article limits and paywalls.
View the list of Library databases that provide newspaper and magazine content on the Databases by Subject and A to Z list.
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
-
Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Films
-
Kanopy (This link opens in a new window)
A streaming video platform that provides access to documentaries, classics, and indie films. For information on public performance rights, visit Kanopy Support.
-
Films on Demand (This link opens in a new window)
Contains streaming videos in a variety of academic disciplines. Includes the Archival Films & Newsreels Collections. Public performance rights for students, faculty and staff is included if no admission is charged.
-
Academic Video Online (This link opens in a new window)
Provides video material from a wide range of disciplines.
Books
-
Oxford Dictionary of Idioms
by
ISBN: 0198845626Publication Date: 2020This dictionary uncovers the meanings of myriad phrases and sayings that are used daily in the English language, encompassing more than 10,000 figurative expressions, similes, sayings, and proverbs. -
The Creative Screenwriter
by
ISBN: 9781646116119Publication Date: 2020Master the craft of screenwriting--12 steps to bring your creative vision to the screen It can be difficult to find a modern resource that teaches you the nuts and bolts of screenwriting while also allowing you the freedom to creatively thrive. This guide distills the craft of screenwriting into 12 key elements, from developing your story to revising and rewriting, plus plenty of inspiration to create your own screenplay with confidence. Discover what to expect within the film industry and how it has evolved. Look behind the scenes at iconic films using a classic structure of screenwriting, along with experimental films from innovative writers that have transcended the rules and paved their own way to the silver screen. Then, get to the exciting part--writing--using a dozen tried-and-true rules of the trade. Each chapter is accompanied with an In the Writer's Room creative exercise, such as formatting your script, mapping sequences, and creating rich dialogue and characters, to deepen your understanding of what brings a screenplay to life. This screenwriting guide includes: Filmmaker's dozen--From loglines to creating a compelling character to root for, you'll find 12 fundamental but flexible steps to help you craft a powerful, creative screenplay. Topline terminology--Navigate the film biz like a pro with need-to-know Hollywood jargon, plus troubleshooting tips for any screenwriting hiccups along the way. Film archive--From William Goldman's The Princess Bride to Taika Waititi's Jojo Rabbit, discover emerging and timeless screenwriting techniques used in Hollywood blockbusters, micro-budget films, and more. Take your story from creative conception to complete script with this modern, 12-step approach to screenwriting.
