Ask a Librarian
Find Articles
Find Magazines and Newspapers
The Library provides current, free-to-you access to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chronicle of Higher Education. Click here for info on how to create accounts with all three!
Newspapers with Both Current and Historical Coverage
- Nation Archive (This link opens in a new window)Contains all issues of The Nation, beginning with its first in 1865 to the present. Articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles are included.
- Newspaper Source Plus (This link opens in a new window)Contains full-text access to major international and national newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (This link opens in a new window)Funded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.
- US Newsstream (This link opens in a new window)Enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Newspapers With Only Historical Coverage
- African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998 (This link opens in a new window)
A full-text collection of newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- Connecticut Historical Newspapers (This link opens in a new window)A collection of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers published in Connecticut. Content includes general news, election returns, legislative acts, letters, poetry, shipping news, and advertisements.
- New York Times - Historical (This link opens in a new window)Provides every issue in PDF format from 1851 (with a three year embargo). Includes news articles, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, advertisements, and more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (This link opens in a new window)Access to digitized issues of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1922. Access to 1992-Present is available in U.S. Newsstream.
- Chronicling AmericaAn Internet-based, searchable database of historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages being developed and maintained by the Library of Congress. Digitized material currently covers the historic period 1756-1963.
Magazines with Both Current and Historical Coverage
- Academic Search Premier (This link opens in a new window)
This multidisciplinary database contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, and videos.
Magazines With Only Historical Coverage
- Life Magazine Archive (This link opens in a new window)
Collection of cover-to-cover format archives of Life Magazine, from the very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
- Sports Illustrated Archive (This link opens in a new window)
A cover-to-cover format archive of Sports Illustrated Magazine, from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000.
- Time Magazine Archive (This link opens in a new window)
A cover-to-cover format archive of Time Magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.
Find Streaming Videos
- Academic Video Online (This link opens in a new window)
Provides video material from a wide range of disciplines.
- Drama Online: The National Theatre Collection (This link opens in a new window)
This database provides videos of filmed performances. Scroll down and click the orange button labeled "Explore the Collection" to view accessible content.
- Drama Online: The Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collection (This link opens in a new window)This database provides videos of filmed performances. Scroll down and click the orange button labeled "Explore the Collection" to view accessible content.
- Films on Demand (This link opens in a new window)
Contains streaming videos in a variety of academic disciplines. Includes the Archival Films & Newsreels Collections. Public performance rights for students, faculty and staff is included if no admission is charged.
- Kanopy (This link opens in a new window)
A streaming video platform that provides access to documentaries, classics, and indie films. For information on public performance rights, visit Kanopy Support.
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Find Background Information
General Background Sources:
- Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Discipline-Specific Background Sources:
Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1442256699Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and PerformanceCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780199574193Publication Date: 2010
Use Additional Online Resources
Image Databases for theatre and costume research
- The Museum at FITSearch for garments and accessories from The Museum at FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology), dating from the 18th century to the present.
- Smithsonian InstitutionThe Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections from their museums, archives, libraries, and research units. There are around 18 million catalog records relating to areas for Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology.
- Victoria & Albert MuseumFrom ancient Chinese ceramics to Alexander McQueen evening dresses, take an incredible journey through 5000 years of human creativity.
Other
- Folger Shakespeare Library's Online ResourcesThe Folger Shakespeare Library offers a broad array of online resources to aid students and scholars with their research on Shakespeare and the early modern period.
- Internet Broadway DatabaseThe official database for Broadway theatre information providing records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
- Open Source ShakespeareOpen Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free Web site containing Shakespeare's complete works. Intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. OSS includes the 1864 Globe Edition of the complete works, which was the definitive single-volume Shakespeare edition for over a half-century.
- Perseus Collection: Greek and Roman MaterialsContains numerous texts from Ancient Greek and Roman drama, as well as more recent Western theatrical traditions. From our friends at Tufts University.
- PlaybillThe latest news from Broadway and beyond, Playbill archives, performance listings, seating charts, and many other special features.
- Speech Accent ArchiveThe speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. From our friends at George Mason University.
- Theatre and Social Justice (January 2020 issue of Choice, volume 57 | number 5)Written by Dr. Martha Schmoyer LoMonaco, former Professor of Theatre and American Studies at Fairfield University, this essay is organized in sections that follow the rough chronology of developing ideologies and techniques for producing social justice theatre in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Cite Your Sources
Working on a big project and need help with citations? Try Zotero, a citation manager that connects with your browser to save full text, organize sources, and create citations. Don't have a lot of time? You can safely generate a citation using ZoteroBib!
Find Other Resources in the Academic Commons
The Library isn't the only resource available to you! The following departments are housed in the Library, but provide different services than the Librarians do:
- The Office of Accessibility
- The Fredrickson Family Innovation Lab
- Global Fairfield
- The ITS Help Desk
- The Math Center
- The Science Center
- The Writing Center
Theatre Course Guides
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
