Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
How To...
Find Articles
Use these selected databases to find articles on your topic:
Find Magazines and Newspapers
The Library provides current, free-to-you access to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chronicle of Higher Education. Click here for info on how to create accounts with all three!
Newspapers with Both Current and Historical Coverage
- Nation Archive This link opens in a new windowContains all issues of The Nation, beginning with its first in 1865 to the present. Articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles are included.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowContains full-text access to major international and national newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowFunded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Newspapers With Only Historical Coverage
- African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- Connecticut Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA collection of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers published in Connecticut. Content includes general news, election returns, legislative acts, letters, poetry, shipping news, and advertisements.
- New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new windowProvides every issue in PDF format from 1851 (with a three year embargo). Includes news articles, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, advertisements, and more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant This link opens in a new windowAccess to digitized issues of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1922. Access to 1992-Present is available in U.S. Newsstream.
- Chronicling AmericaAn Internet-based, searchable database of historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages being developed and maintained by the Library of Congress. Digitized material currently covers the historic period 1756-1963.
Magazines with Both Current and Historical Coverage
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, and videos.
Magazines With Only Historical Coverage
- Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Collection of cover-to-cover format archives of Life Magazine, from the very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
- Sports Illustrated Archive This link opens in a new window
A cover-to-cover format archive of Sports Illustrated Magazine, from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A cover-to-cover format archive of Time Magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.
Find Company Financials
Library Databases
- AtoZdatabases This link opens in a new windowContains business profiles, residential listings, career advice, and more. Used to find employment information, market research, and demographic data.
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowProvides information on U.S. and international companies, industries and products.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides financial details of active and inactive public companies plus private and international companies. Includes annual reports, industry reports, executive profiles, Mergent equity research reports, and global equity pricing data. Simultaneous user limit: 35.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new windowOffers real-time access to trading data and independent analysis on investments, including mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. With portfolio tools and calculators, investment articles, and videos. Simultaneous user limit: 2.
- Value Line This link opens in a new windowProvides research, data, analysis, information, and advice on stocks, options, securities, industries, stock market, and the economy. Includes ratings and reports, summary and index, selection and opinion, and the Value Line Investment Survey. Simultaneous user limit: 6.
Other
- SEC - Beginner's Guide to Financial StatementA breakdown of key financial terms.
- SEC EDGAR DatabaseU.S. Securities and Exchange Commission database.
Use NAICS and SIC Codes
Every industry is assigned a four-digit SIC code. All companies in the same industry are assigned the same code. A company may have more than one SIC code if they operate within different segments of an industry, but usually only one or two are considered the primary SIC codes. Many of our business databases, such as Business & Company Resource Center, will list the codes for a particular company or industry.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) was originally developed in the 1930’s to classify establishments by the type of activity in which they are primarily engaged and to promote the comparability of establishment data describing various facets of the U.S. economy. The SIC covers the entire field of economic activities by defining industries in accordance with the composition and structure of the economy.
Find Industry Information
Library Databases
- Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new windowProvides access to competitive benchmarking data compiled from Dun & Bradstreet’s database of public and private companies.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides financial details of active and inactive public companies plus private and international companies. Includes annual reports, industry reports, executive profiles, Mergent equity research reports, and global equity pricing data. Simultaneous user limit: 35.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new windowOffers real-time access to trading data and independent analysis on investments, including mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. With portfolio tools and calculators, investment articles, and videos. Simultaneous user limit: 2.
- Value Line This link opens in a new windowProvides research, data, analysis, information, and advice on stocks, options, securities, industries, stock market, and the economy. Includes ratings and reports, summary and index, selection and opinion, and the Value Line Investment Survey. Simultaneous user limit: 6.
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Find Background Information
Background sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be helpful if you're not very familiar with your topic. They contain basic knowledge about a topic and can provide key terms for further searching.
General Background Sources:
- Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Discipline-Specific Background Sources:
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Strategic ManagementCall Number: OnlineISBN: 1137007729Publication Date: 2018
Small Business Sourcebook: The Entrepreneur's ResourceCall Number: OnlineISBN: 0028670531Publication Date: 2022
Use Additional Online Resources
- Formulating a Business PlanA good business plan is a roadmap to success. The three modules of this program look at the process of creating a business plan (From Films on Demand Database)
- HBS Working KnowlegeNewsletter offering a first look at Harvard Business School thinking on issues such as globalization, foreign investment, and business strategy.
- Knowledge@WhartonAccess to articles prepared at the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School of Business and other sources.
- U.S. Small Business AdministrationAccess to government information and services on areas such as financial assistance, laws and regulations, taxes, international trade, and workplace issues.
Cite Your Sources
Working on a big project and need help with citations? Try Zotero, a citation manager that connects with your browser to save full text, organize sources, and create citations. Don't have a lot of time? You can safely generate a citation using ZoteroBib!
Find Other Resources in the Academic Commons
The Library isn't the only resource available to you! The following departments are housed in the Library, but provide different services than the Librarians do:
- The Office of Accessibility
- The Fredrickson Family Innovation Lab
- Global Fairfield
- The ITS Help Desk
- The Math Center
- The Science Center
- The Writing Center
Course Guides in this Subject
Management Course Guides
Course Guides are created in collaboration between your professor and a Librarian and will contain research guidance more specific to your course than this general subject guide will.
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
