Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
How To...
Find Articles
Use these selected databases to find articles on your topic:
Find Newspapers and Magazines
The Library provides current, free-to-you access to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chronicle of Higher Education. Click here for info on how to create accounts with all three!
Current and Historical Newspapers
- Nation Archive This link opens in a new windowContains all issues of The Nation, beginning with its first in 1865 to the present. Articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles are included.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowContains full-text access to major international and national newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowFunded in part by the generosity of the Flora and Jeremiah Buckley Library Fund. Contains local, regional, national, and international news with deep archives. Provides extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes as well as law reviews. Also includes business information on U.S. and international companies.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Historical Newspapers
- African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- Connecticut Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA collection of eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers published in Connecticut. Content includes general news, election returns, legislative acts, letters, poetry, shipping news, and advertisements.
- New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new windowProvides every issue in PDF format from 1851 (with a three year embargo). Includes news articles, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, advertisements, and more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant This link opens in a new windowAccess to digitized issues of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1922. Access to 1992-Present is available in U.S. Newsstream.
Magazines
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, and videos.
- Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Collection of cover-to-cover format archives of Life Magazine, from the very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
- Sports Illustrated Archive This link opens in a new window
A cover-to-cover format archive of Sports Illustrated Magazine, from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A cover-to-cover format archive of Time Magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Find Background Information
Background sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be helpful if you're not very familiar with your topic. They contain basic knowledge about a topic and can provide key terms for further searching.
General Background Sources:
- Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Discipline-Specific Background Sources:
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level D54 .E53 2013 v.1-13ISBN: 9781405179355Publication Date: 2012
Historical statistics of the United States : earliest times to the presentCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2006
Milestone Documents in World HistoryCall Number: Reference Stacks Main Level D5 .M55 2010 v. 3 - 4Publication Date: 2010
The New Atlas of World History by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level G1030. H43 2011ISBN: 9780691152691Publication Date: 2011
Find Primary Sources
U.S. and North America
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals (Series 1-5) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new windowA primary source collection of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
- American State Papers This link opens in a new windowCollection of primary source material from the legislative (Congress) and executive branch of the United States government produced between 1789 and 1838.
- Archive of Americana This link opens in a new windowThis set of primary source collections includes America’s Historical Imprints (includes American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers (includes African American Newspapers Series I, 1827-1998, Conecticut's Historical Newspapers); American State Papers; and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994, with maps.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowA primary source collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides listed in the bibliography compiled by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new windowA primary source collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides listed in the bibliography compiled by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
- Serial Set Maps This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 70,000 maps published within the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994. Covers the U.S. and international locations.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides access to historical census data and demographic information. Visualize and interact with the data by creating maps, charts, and reports. Includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowProvides a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is culled from a variety of governmental resources.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new windowContains every publication from the 15th Congress (1817) through the 103rd Congress (1994).
- Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowOrganized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history.
World (excluding U.S. and North America)
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowA primary source collection containing digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowA primary source collection containing digitized books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera printed in the United Kingdom and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Printed and visual primary source materials for the study of ‘Empire” and its theories, practices, and consequences. Also Includes secondary sources such as scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new windowA guide to the citations of printed works about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Developed by the John Carter Brown Library.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowDatabase of digitized primary sources from the nineteenth century, curated by an international team of scholars and culled from the collections of the National Archives, the Library of Congress, the British Library, and other major repositories. Contains photographs, books, manuscripts, maps, letters, government documents, journals, and newspapers.
Use Additional Online Resources
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsProvides access to the Library of Congress collections, which include many primary documents, maps, and photographs. Topics covered include Literature, Presidents, Religion, and African-American History.
- American PanoramaA historical atlas tool developed by the University of Richmond that creates visualizations of human movements over time.
- Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United StatesA digital reproduction of many of the maps found in the print version of the Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, first published in 1932. This site, funded by the University of Richmond and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, are enhanced here in ways impossible in print, animated to show change over time or made clickable to view the underlying data.
- Chronicling AmericaAn Internet-based, searchable database of historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages being developed and maintained by the Library of Congress. Digitized material currently covers the historic period 1836-1922.
- Cornerstone DocumentsThis page, maintained by the U. S. Government Printing Office, provides digital access to important documents relevant to United States history.
- DocsTeachSearch for or browse over 3,000 U.S. history primary-source documents and activities. Teachers can customize pre-made history activities, create brand-new activities from scratch, and save and organize activities in an account to share with students.
- EuroDocsOnline Sources for European History
Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations - Internet Modern History SourcebookThe primary source material in this collection covers the modern and ancient history of countries around the world. Includes legal and political documents, contemporary narrative accounts, personal memoirs, songs, and newspaper reports, as well as cultural, philosophical, religious, and scientific documents. Courtesy Fordham University.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library shares digitized primary documents from all over the world, including maps, manuscripts, prints, and much more. Using the map and the timeline on the homepage, researchers can discover sources geographically and chronologically.
Cite Your Sources
Questions about Citations? Save time, ask a Librarian!
AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed.Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level R119 .A533 2020ISBN: 9780190246556Click the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our AMA Citation Guide.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), 7th ed.Call Number: Reference Main Level BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Click the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our APA Citation Guide.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed.Call Number: Reference Main Level LB2369 .G53 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Click the title above to view the handbook. For help with this style, check out our MLA Citation Guide.
The Chicago Manual of StyleCall Number: Online and Reference Main Level Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Click the title above to view the manual. Our Citation Guides can help with Chicago Notes-Bibliography style or Chicago Author-Date style.
IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors by Call Number: OnlineClick the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our IEEE Citation Guide.
Working on a big project and need help managing your citations? Try Zotero!
Zotero is a citation manager that connects with your browser to save full text, organize sources, and create citations.
Click the logo to see more info!
Find Other Resources in the Academic Commons
The Library isn't the only resource available to you! The following departments are housed in the Library, but provide different services than the Librarians do:
- The Office of Accessibility
- The Fredrickson Family Innovation Lab
- Global Fairfield
- The ITS Help Desk
- The Math Center
- The Science Center
- The Writing Center
Course Guides in this Subject
History Course Guides
Course Guides are created in collaboration between your professor and a Librarian and will contain research guidance more specific to your course than this general subject guide will.
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
