Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
Walk-In Hours
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
Walk-In Hours
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
How To...
Find Articles
Use these selected databases to find articles on your topic:
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Find Background Information
Background sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be helpful if you're not very familiar with your topic. They contain basic knowledge about a topic and can provide key terms for further searching.
General Background Sources:
-
Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
-
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
-
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Discipline-Specific Background Sources:
-
-
-
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and DesignersCall Number: Online and Reference Main Level NC997 .L54 2012ISBN: 9780500204139Publication Date: 2012 -
Typography: a Very Short IntroductionCall Number: Stacks Upper Level Z246 .L85 2018ISBN: 0199211299Publication Date: 2019
Use Additional Online Resources
Tutorials
All Fairfield University students, faculty, and staff have access to LinkedIn Learning (which can be found when you log into my.fairfield.edu), an online subscription library that teaches the latest software tools and skills through high-quality instructional videos taught by recognized industry experts on a broad range of subjects, including graphic design, illustration, animation, Photoshop, and web design. New courses are added every week.
Tools
Adobe Photoshop Creative Suite is available on some computer labs on campus. There are also many free or inexpensive graphic design tools online:
-
Adobe SparkCreate impactful social graphics, web pages, and short videos in minutes.
-
CanvaGraphic design tool with an easy to use drag-and-drop interface and provides access to over a million photographs, graphics, and fonts. The tools can be used for both web and print media design and graphics.
-
Easel.lySimple web tool that empowers anyone to create and share powerful visuals.
-
GIMPCan be used for photo retouching, image composition, and image authoring.
-
InkscapeOpen-source vector graphics editor that can be used to create or edit vector graphics such as illustrations, diagrams, line arts, charts, logos and complex paintings.
Cite Your Sources
Questions about Citations? Save time, ask a Librarian!
AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed.Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level R119 .A533 2020ISBN: 9780190246556Click the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our AMA Citation Guide.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), 7th ed.Call Number: Reference Main Level BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Click the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our APA Citation Guide.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed.Call Number: Reference Main Level LB2369 .G53 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Click the title above to view the handbook. For help with this style, check out our MLA Citation Guide.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed.Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Click the title above to view the manual. Our Citation Guides can help with Chicago Notes-Bibliography style or Chicago Author-Date style.
IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors by Call Number: OnlineClick the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our IEEE Citation Guide.
Working on a big project and need help managing your citations? Try Zotero!
Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a standalone application that uses browser connectors to save full text, organize sources, and create citations. Click the logo to see more info!
Find Other Resources in the Academic Commons
The Library isn't the only resource available to you! See the website below to find out what services are housed within the Library but are separate University departments:
- Fairfield University Academic CommonsSee information about the other departments in the Library building: Academic Retention and Support, Accessibility, Fredrickson Family Innovation Lab, Global Fairfield, ITS Help Desk, Math Center, and Writing Center.
Course Guides in this Subject
Graphic Design Course Guides
Course Guides are created in collaboration between your professor and a Librarian and will contain research guidance more specific to your course than this general subject guide will.
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
