Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
Walk-In Hours
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
Ask a Librarian
Research Librarians
Contact:
Walk-In Hours
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
research@fairfield.edu
203.254.4000 ext. 2188 (call)
203.295.7542 (text)
Research Appointment
Library Tutorials
How To...
Find Articles
Use these selected databases to find articles on your topic:
Databases for K-12 Students and Educators
- Primary Search This link opens in a new windowA full-text database providing popular children's magazines, encyclopedia entries, and an image collection.
- Middle Search Plus (for K-12) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles from popular magazines geared towards middle school students. Also includes biographies, primary source documents, and other background source material.
- Explora for Primary Schools This link opens in a new windowThis database is targeted for use by students in kindergarten through fifth grade, and their educators.
- Explora for Secondary School (grades 6-12) This link opens in a new windowThis database is targeted for use by students in sixth through twelfth grade, and their educators.
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Find K-12 Materials
The Curriculum Collection, located on the second floor of the DiMenna-Nyselius Library, contains a selection of K-12 instructional materials. Materials are available in a variety of formats:
- Books
- Multimedia
- Computer software
- Journals
- Magazines
- Newspapers
- Educational kits
Our collection includes award-winning titles including Caldecott, Newbury, Coretta Scott King, and Nutmeg books.
Search for Curriculum Collection materials here. When you want to search within the Curriculum Collection filter, make sure you've locked the active filter by clicking on "remember all filters." Once you've done this, use the top search box to narrow your results.
Find Background Information
Background sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be helpful if you're not very familiar with your topic. They contain basic knowledge about a topic and can provide key terms for further searching.
General Background Sources:
- Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Discipline-Specific Background Sources:
The Cambridge Handbook of Multimedia LearningCall Number: Stacks Upper Level LB1028.5 .C283 2014Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Diversity in EducationCall Number: Online and Reference Stacks Main Level LC1099 .E53 2012 v. 1-4Publication Date: 2012
Use Additional Online Resources
- BEN (BioSciEdNet): Digital Library Portal for Teaching and Learning in the Biological SciencesResources for educators in the biological sciences at all grade levels, managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
- CPTV PBS Learning MediaProvides links to free multimedia resources by topic and grade level.
- EdutopiaA website created to "inspire, inform and accelerate positive change in schools and districts by shining a spotlight on evidence-based strategies that improve learning and engagement for students."
- Library of Congress for TeachersPrimary source materials for the classroom.
- National Education Association (NEA) - Tools and IdeasResource section of the NEA's website. Includes lesson plans, strategies, and advice for new teachers.
Cite Your Sources
Questions about Citations? Save time, ask a Librarian!
AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed.Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level R119 .A533 2020ISBN: 9780190246556Click the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our AMA Citation Guide.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), 7th ed.Call Number: Reference Main Level BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Click the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our APA Citation Guide.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed.Call Number: Reference Main Level LB2369 .G53 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Click the title above to view the handbook. For help with this style, check out our MLA Citation Guide.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed.Call Number: Online and Reference Main Level Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Click the title above to view the manual. Our Citation Guides can help with Chicago Notes-Bibliography style or Chicago Author-Date style.
IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors by Call Number: OnlineClick the title above to view the manual. For help with this style, check out our IEEE Citation Guide.
Working on a big project and need help managing your citations? Try Zotero!
Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a standalone application that uses browser connectors to save full text, organize sources, and create citations. Click the logo to see more info!
Find Other Resources in the Academic Commons
The Library isn't the only resource available to you! See the website below to find out what services are housed within the Library but are separate University departments:
- Fairfield University Academic CommonsSee information about the other departments in the Library building: Academic Retention and Support, Accessibility, Fredrickson Family Innovation Lab, Global Fairfield, ITS Help Desk, Math Center, and Writing Center.
Course Guides in this Subject
Education Course Guides
Course Guides are created in collaboration between your professor and a Librarian and will contain research guidance more specific to your course than this general subject guide will.
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
