Provides access to articles in scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications in all the biological sciences, including biological chemistry, biophysics, and environmental studies. Formerly known as Biology Database.
"The Atlas of Birds" captures the breathtaking diversity of birds, and illuminates their conservation status around the world. Full-color maps show where birds are found, both by country and terrain, and reveal how an astounding variety of behavioral adaptations--from flight and feeding to nest building and song--have enabled them to thrive in virtually every habitat on Earth. Maps of individual journeys and global flyways chart the amazing phenomenon of bird migration, while bird classification is explained using maps for each order and many key families. Conservation provides a strong focus throughout, with maps illustrating where and why birds are most under threat, and what is being done to protect them. Separate sections examine key factors influencing their distribution and endangering their survival, from deforestation and climate change to invasive species and the cage-bird trade. Bird groups most affected, such as island endemics, are highlighted, while a fascinating chapter explores the complex historical relationship between birds and humans, with maps and data for everything from poultry farming to birdwatching. Features full-color maps, photos, and diagrams. Covers bird evolution, classification, and behavior. Describes the complex relationship . between birds and their habitats. Explores the impact of human activities on species survival Illustrates where and why birds are most under threat--and how to protect them
Essential Ornithology provides the reader with a concise but comprehensive introduction to the biology of birds, one of the most widely studied taxonomic groups. The book starts with the controversial question of the dinosaur origins of birds and their subsequent evolution. Development, anatomy, and physiology are then discussed followed by chapters devoted to avian reproduction, migration, ecology, and conservation. Sections dealing with aspects of bird/human relationships and bird conservation give the book an applied context. Drawing extensively upon the wider scientific literature, this engaging text places the results of classical studies of avian biology alongside the most recent scientific breakthroughs.
The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.
A leading figure in the emerging field of extinction studies, Thom van Dooren puts philosophy into conversation with the natural sciences and his ethnographic encounters to vivify the cultural and ethical significance of modern-day extinctions. Incorporates the particularities of real animals and their worlds, drawing philosophers, natural scientists, and general readers into the experience of living among and losing biodiversity. Each chapter of Flight Ways focuses on a different species or group of birds: North Pacific albatrosses, Indian vultures, an endangered colony of penguins in Australia, Hawaiian crows, and the iconic whooping cranes of North America. Written in eloquent and moving prose, the book takes stock of what is lost when a life form disappears from the world-the wide-ranging ramifications that ripple out to implicate a number of human and more-than-human others.
Third edition of the Handbook of Bird Biology is an essential and comprehensive resource for everyone interested in learning more about birds, from casual bird watchers to formal students of ornithology. Arising from the renowned Cornell Lab of Ornithology and authored by a team of experts from around the world, the Handbook covers all aspects of avian diversity, behaviour, ecology, evolution, physiology, and conservation. Using examples drawn from birds found in every corner of the globe, it explores and distills the many scientific discoveries that have made birds one of our best known - and best loved - parts of the natural world. It provides readers with a tool for life-long learning about birds and is suitable for bird watchers and ornithology students, as well as for ecologists, conservationists, and resource managers who work with birds. The Handbook of Bird Biology is the companion volume to the Cornell Lab's renowned distance learning course, Ornithology: Comprehensive Bird Biology.
Call Number: Online and Stacks Upper Level QL672.7 .B568 2014
Publication Date: 2014
An illustrated history of modern ornithology providing a thoroughly engaging and authoritative history of modern ornithology, tracing how the study of birds has been shaped by a succession of visionary and often-controversial personalities, and by the unique social and scientific contexts in which these extraordinary individuals worked. The book opens in the middle of the nineteenth century when ornithology was a museum-based discipline focused almost exclusively on the anatomy, taxonomy, and classification of dead birds. It describes how in the early 1900s pioneering individuals such as Erwin Stresemann, Ernst Mayr, and Julian Huxley recognized the importance of studying live birds in the field, and how this shift thrust ornithology into the mainstream of the biological sciences. The book tells the stories of eccentrics like Colonel Richard Meinertzhagen, a pathological liar who stole specimens from museums and quite likely murdered his wife, and describes the breathtaking insights and discoveries of ambitious and influential figures such as David Lack, Niko Tinbergen, Robert MacArthur, and others who through their studies of birds transformed entire fields of biology. Drawing on a wealth of archival material and in-depth interviews, this fascinating book reveals how research on birds has contributed more to our understanding of animal biology than the study of just about any other group of organisms.
Winged Sentinels: Birds and Climate Change uses colourful examples to show how particular groups of birds face heightened threats from climate change and to explore how we can help birds adapt in a warming world. Generously illustrated with colour photographs, the book is a fascinating insight into what climate change means for birds, and the potential consequences of ignoring these warning signs.
The ornithology collection in the Yale Peabody Museum’s Division of Vertebrate Zoology is among the most comprehensive in North America. Overall, the collection of skins, skeletons and wet preserves contains over 124,000 specimens of more than 6,500 species — over 70% of the birds of the world — with international significance in several areas.
The collection’s importance cannot be judged by numbers alone. The Blossom Collection of Atlantic island birds has historic value, and there are good holdings in extinct North American taxa such as the Heath Hen, Ivory-billed Woodpecker, Eskimo Curlew, Carolina Parakeet and Bachman’s Warbler. Asian birds are especially well represented (from India, Nepal, Pakistan, Thailand and Laos), and extensive African collections have been made from Angola, Kenya and Tanzania. The ornithology collection also has regional U.S. strength, especially for Connecticut and New Hampshire (the Dartmouth Ornithological Collection).
The Department of Ornithology maintains one of the largest collections of bird
specimens in the world. The research collections of the Department number nearly
one million specimens; these include skins, skeletons, alcoholic preparations, eggs,
nests, and tissue samples for molecular biochemical studies. A large number of
Ornithology type specimens and rare or extinct species are also found in its collections. The
specimens represent all continents and oceans and nearly 99 percent of all
The Department has an ornithology library for research use and
maintains laboratories for specimen preparation, skeletal and anatomical
analyses and dissections, and a modern molecular laboratory for DNA sequencing
(the Cullman Molecular Laboratory).
Research interests include higher level phylogenetics of birds, studies of speciation
and species status, and the description of patterns of geographic variation. These
investigations are based on skin measurements, plumage color analysis, skeletal
measurements and analyses, anatomical dissections, and molecular studies.
Additional research involves biogeography of remote areas and life history studies
of poorly known taxa. Staff members organize expeditions annually to areas
throughout the world; recent expeditions include trips to Benin, Brazil, and Mexico.
The Division of Birds, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, houses and maintains the third largest bird collection in the world with over 640,000 specimens. The National Collection, known in the ornithological literature by the acronym USNM (referring to our former name of United States National Museum), has representatives of about 85% of the approximately 10,000 known species in the world's avifauna.
If you are replicating any of our guides as a template on your own site for use by your library's LibGuide authors, we would appreciate a brief attribution, e.g "Portions of this guide were built using suggestions from DiMenna-Nyselius Library, Fairfield University.”