Commonly Cited Sources in APA

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

Bigelow, B. (2006). The line between us: Teaching about the border and Mexican immigration. Rethinking Schools.

Note: For all types of books if there is a DOI include it at the end of the reference: https: doi.org/xxxx

(Bigelow, 2006)

Or

Bigelow (2006) discusses the Mexican immigrant experience ...

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

Mock, D. W., & Parker, G. A. (1997). The evolution of sibling rivalry. Oxford University Press.

(Mock & Parker, 1997)

Or

Mock and Parker (1997) discuss the origins of family structure ...

Author, A. A ., Author, B. B., Author, C. C.,  & Author, D. D. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

Koenig, H., Pearce, M., Ames, D., & Nash, W. P. (2020). Religion and recovery from PTSD. Jessica Kingsley Publishers.

(Koenig et al., 2020)

Or

Koenig et al. (2020) discuss the origins of family structure ...

Author, A. A ., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K ., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., ... Author, W. W. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

(Last name et al., 2019)

Or:

Last name et al. (2019)

Name of Organization. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

American Psychiatric Association. (1998). Practice guideline for the treatment of patients with panic disorder.

Note: When the publisher is the same as the author, omit the publisher.

For the first in-text citation use:

(American Psychiatric Association [APA], 1998)

Or:

American Psychiatric Association (APA, 1998)

For subsequent citations use:

(APA, 1998)

Or:

APA (1998) 

Note: For universities as authors do not abbreviate the name.

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of Chapter. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. chapter page numbers). Name of Publisher.

Kozminski, A. K. (1994). High-speed management and global competition. In S. S. King & D. P. Cushman (Eds.), High-speed management and organizational communications in the 1990s: A reader (pp. 41-67). State University of New York Press.

Note: Page is abbreviated, but Chapter is not abbreviated and it is capitalized.

(Kozminski, 1994)

Or:

(Kozminski, 1994, p. 50)

Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

Madan, T. N. (Ed.). (1991). Religion in India. Oxford University Press.

Note: For more than one editor, use (Eds.)

(Madan, 1991)

Or:

Madan (1991)

The Entire Collection:

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

Montaigne, M. D. (1993). The complete essays (M. A. Screech, Ed. and Trans.). Penguin Books.

OR

A Specific Essay:

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of work (A. A. Translator, Trans.). In A. A. Author/Editor & B. B. Author/Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. page numbers). Name of Publisher.

Montaigne, M. D. (1993). On the cannibals (M. A. Screech, Trans.). In M. A. Screech (Ed.), The complete essays (pp. 228-241). Penguin Books.

(Montaigne, 1993)

OR

(Montaigne 1993, p. 230)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of poem. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. page numbers). Name of Publisher.

Frost, R. (1964). The road not taken. Complete poems of Robert Frost (p. 131). W. W. Norton.

OR

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of poem. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. page numbers). Name of Publisher.

Frost, R. (1988). The road not taken. In R. Ellmann & R. O'Clair (Eds.), The Norton anthology of modern poetry (pp. 247-48). W. W. Norton.

(Frost, 1964, p. 131)

Stand-Alone Play

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

Shepard, S. (1981). True west. Nelson Doubleday.

OR

Play Within an Anthology

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of play. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. page numbers). Name of Publisher.

Shakespeare, W. (2008). King Lear (Stephen Greenblatt, Ed.). The Norton Shakespeare (pp. 2325-2567). W. W. Norton.

(Shepard, 2008, p. 63)

OR

(Shakespeare, 2008, pp. 2352-2353)

Title of book (edition number ed.). (Year of Publication). Name of Publisher.

The American heritage dictionary of the English language (4th ed.). (2000). Houghton Mifflin.

Note: Within the reference list, alphabetize works with no author by the first significant word in the title (American in this case).

For the in-text citation, use a few words of the title in place of the author's name.

(American Heritage Dictionary, 2000)

Or:

American Heritage Dictionary (2000)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of book (edition number ed.). Name of Publisher.

Bukatko, D. & Daehler, M. W. (2004). Child development: A thematic approach (5th ed.). Houghton Mifflin.

(Bukatko & Daehler, 2004)

Or:

Bukatko and Daehler (2004)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication for English Translation). Title of book (Name of Translator, Trans.). Name of Publisher. (Original work published [Date of Original Publication])

Freud, S. (1999). The interpretation of dreams (J. Crick, Trans.). Oxford. (Original work published 1899)

(Freud, 1899/1999)

Or:

Freud (1899/1999)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of book (Vol. X). Name of Publisher.

Cook, B.W. (1999). Eleanor Roosevelt (Vol. 12). Viking.

(Cook, 1999)

Or:

Cook (1999)

Author, A. A. (Year(s) of Publication). Title of book (Vols. X-X). Name of Publisher.

Cook, B.W. (1992-1999). Eleanor Roosevelt (Vols. 1-12). Viking.

(Cook, 1992-1999)

Or:

Cook (1992-1999)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of encyclopedia article. In Title of encyclopedia (Vol. Volume Number, pp. page numbers). Name of Publisher.

Mayes, A. R. & Hunkin, M. M. (2003). Amnesia. In Encyclopedia of cognitive science (Vol. 1, pp. 90-97). Nature Publishing Group.

(Mayes & Hunkin, 2003)

Or:

Mayes and Hunkin (2003)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. chapter page numbers). Name of Publisher.

Dray, A. (1999). Vanilloids as analgesics. In J. Sawynok & A. Cowan (Eds.), Novel aspects of pain management: Opioids and beyond (pp. 117-134).Wiley-Liss.

Note: A URL should only be included at the end if it is a nondatabase URL or include the DOI at the end if you have it: https://doi.org/xxxx     

See APA manual 10.3 for more information.

(Dray, 1999)

Or:

Dray (1999)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of book. Name of Publisher.

Martin, R. (2001). Beethoven's hair: An extraordinary historical odyssey and a scientific mystery solved. Broadway Books.

Note: A URL should only be included at the end if it is a nondatabase URL or include the DOI at the end if you have it: https://doi.org/xxxx     

See APA manual 10.3 for more information.

(Martin, 2001)

Or:

Martin (2001)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Journal Title, volume(issue number), print page numbers. https://doi:xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Cowan, R. L. (2012). It’s complicated: Defining workplace bullying from the human resource professional’s perspective. Management Communication Quarterly, 26(3), 377-403. https://doi:10.1177/0893318912439474

(Cowan, 2012)

Or:

Cowan (2012)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Journal Title, volume(issue number), print page numbers. URL

Salama, A. M. (2008). A theory for integrating knowledge in architectural design education. Archnet-IJAR: International Journal of Architectural Research, 2(1), 100-128. http://archnet.org/gws/IJAR/8821/files_8181/2.1.07%20-a.%20salama- pp100-128.pdf

Note on Article URL:

• Accessible for free: give the exact URL, as in the example above.
• From an electronic academic research database: If no DOI then do not include the URL, instead treat as a print journal.
• For works from databases that publish works of limited circulation or original proprietary materials, include the name of the database or archive and the URL of the work. See section 9.30 in APA handbook.

(Salama, 2008)

Or:

Salama (2008)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Journal Title, volume, print page numbers.

Zhao, Z. (2006). Income inequality, unequal health care access, and mortality in China. Population and Development Review, 32, 401-446.
 

(Zhao, 2006)

Or:

Zhao (2006)

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Journal Title, volume(issue number), print page numbers.

Greenberg, A. (2001). Race, religiosity, and the women's vote. Women & Politics, 22(3), 59-82.

(Greenberg, 2001)

Or:

Greenberg (2001)

Author of the Review. (Date of Publication). Title of article [Review of Title of book being reviewed,  by A.A. Author]. Journal Title, volume, page numbers.

Ellis, N. (2006). London chiming [Review of the book Postcolonial London: Rewriting the metropolis, by J. McLeod]. Postcolonial Studies, 9, 337-342.

Note: If citing a review of another medium, such as a motion picture, use Review of motion picture in brackets. Example: [Review of the motion picture To catch a thief]

(Ellis, 2006)

Or:

Ellis (2006)

Author, A. A ., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K ., Author, L. L., Author, M. M ., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., ... Author, W. W. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue number), pages. Name of Publisher. 

Koiwai, K., Tsukimoto, J., Higashi. T, Mafune, F., Miyajima, K., Nakane, T., Matsugaki, N., Kato, R., Sirigu, S., Jakobi, A., Wilmanns, M., Sugahara, M., Tanaka, T., Tono, K., Joti, Y., Yabashi, M., Osamu, N., Mizohata, E., Nakatsu, T., ...Yumoto, F. (2019). Improvement of production and isolation of human neuraminidase-1 in cellulo crystals. ACS Applied Bio Materials 2(11), 4941-4952. https://doi.org/10.1021/acsabm.9b00686

(Koiwai et al., 2019)

Or:

Koiwai et al. (2019)

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Magazine Title, volume (issue if available), page numbers.

Stengel, R. (2012, April 30). A world of possibilities. Time, 179(17), 1. 

Note: Include DOI at the end if available.

(Stengel, 2012)

Or:

Stengel (2012)

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Magazine Title, volume(issue), page numbers. URL 

Barclay, A. (2013, March). Using social media to enhance public education on water usage. Environmental Science and Engineering Magazine, 26(2), 13. http://www.esemag.com

(Barclay, 2013)

Or:

Barclay (2013)

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Magazine Title, volume, page numbers.

Ravilious, K. (2006, November/December). Scots on the rocks: Mountaineering archaeologists reach new heights of discovery. Archaeology, 27, 16-21.  

(Ravilious, 2006)

Or:

Ravilious (2006)

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Newspaper Title, page number(s).

Harmon, A. (2006, December 10). DNA gatherers hit a snag: The tribes don't trust them. New York Times, 1.1. 

Note on DOI: At this time newspaper articles rarely have a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) assigned to them. If your newspaper article does have a DOI at it to the end of the reference. 

Not sure what a DOI is or how to find it?

(Harmon, 2006)

Or:

Harmon (2006)

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Newspaper Title. URL

Searing, L. (2020, January 6). The big number: 24% of young adults may have prediabetes in U.S., study shows. The Washington Post.  https://www.washingtonpost.com/health/the-big-number-24-percent-of-young-adults-may-have-prediabetes-in-us-study-shows/2020/01/03/f0559ee2-2d74-11ea-9b60-817cc18cf173_story.html

(Searing, 2020)

Or:

Searing (2020)

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Newspaper Title, page number(s).

Donnelly, J. (2006, November 9). SARS authority picked to lead health group. Boston Globe, A14.

(Donnelly, 2006)

Or:

Donnelly (2006)

Title of article. (Full Date of Publication). Newspaper Title, page number(s).

Number of out-of-wedlock births a record. (2006, November 26). Hartford Courant, A7.

Notes:

• For an online newspaper article or article from a database, use the format provided here, but replace the page number with the URL.
• Within the reference list, alphabetize works with no author by the first significant word in the title.

("Number of Out-of-Wedlock Births", 2006)

Note: For the in-text citation, use a few words of the title in place of the author's name. Include double quotation marks around the title of the article.

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article [Letter to the editor]. Newspaper Title, page number.

Arsham, J. (2006, November 9). At last she has reason to wave a flag [Letter to the editor]. Boston Globe, A16.

(Arsham, 2006)

Or:

Arsham (2006)

Author, A. A. (Date of Posting/Revision). Title of webpage. URL

Schaeffer, K. (2023, January 9). U.S. Congress continues to grow in racial, ethnic diversity. Pew Research Center. https://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2023/01/09/u-s-congress-continues-to-grow-in-racial-ethnic-diversity/

Notes:

The author for a website may be a person's name, or a company or institution.

When the Date of Posting/Revision is not available, use (n.d.).

(Last name, year)

(Schaeffer, 2023)

Or:

Schaeffer (2023)

Government or Organizational Group Author. (Date of Posting/Revision). Title of website. URL

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2023, January 13). Travelers' health, travel vaccines.  https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/page/travel-vaccines

Note: When the Date of Posting/Revision is not available, use (n.d.).

(Government or Organizational Group, year)

(Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2023)

Or:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2023)

Author, A. A. (Date of Posting). Title of blog post. Website. URL

Jenkins, L. (2021, March 1). 10 inspiring stories of women at the Met. The Met Museum. https://metmuseum.org/blogs/collection-insights/2021/womens-history-month-stories

(Last name, year)

(Jenkins, 2021)

Or:

Jenkins (2021)

Author, A. A. (Date of Posting). Comment title or up to first twenty words of comment. [Comment on the article Title of article or blog post]. Website. URL

Ellen. (2021, March 13).Great initiative and wonderful presentations! [Comment on the blog post 10 inspiring stories of women at the Met]. The Met Museum. https://metmuseum.org/blogs/collection-insights/2021/womens-history-month-stories

Note: If the author of the comment has used a screen name, then use the screen name in your reference.

(Last name or username, year)

(Ellen, 2021)

Or:

Ellen (2021)

Author, A. [Social media identity]. (Year, Day of Posting). Content of post up to first 20 words [Type of Media]. Site name. URL

Obama, B. [@BarackObama]. (2009, July 15). Launched American Graduation Initiative to help additional 5 mill. Americans graduate college by 2020: http://bit.ly/gcTX7 [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/BarackObama/status/2651151366

Note: If writing for publication may want to self-archive any social media updates

(Last name, year)

(Obama, 2019)

Or:

Obama (2019)

Author, A.  (Year, Day of Posting). Content of post up to first 20 words. [Photo/Status Update/Video]. Facebook. URL 

American Psychological Association. (2019, December 31). Are you setting some goals to ring in the new year? [Status update]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/pg/AmericanPsychologicalAssociation/posts/

Note: If writing for publication may want to self-archive any social media updates

(Last name, year)

(American Psychological Association, 2019)  Or:

American Psychological Association (2019)

Author, A. [@username]. (Year, Day of Posting). Content of post up to first 20 words [Tweet]. Twitter. URL 

The New York Times [@nytimes]. (2020, January 7). Throughout the U.S., marine labs that study the environment are being threatened by climate change [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/nytimes/status/1214685673082511360

Note: If writing for publication may want to self-archive any social media updates

(Last name, year)

(The New York Times, 2020)  

Or:

The New York Times (2020)

Author, A. [@username]. (Year, Day of Posting). Content of post up to first 20 words. [Photograph/Video]. Instagram. URL 

Obama, M. [@michelleobama]. (2019, December 20). Long An Province, Vietnam. [Video]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/B6TD-pnADuQ/

Note: If writing for publication may want to self-archive any social media updates

(Last name, year)

(Obama, 2019)  

Or:

Obama (2019)

Title of work. (Year). Publisher. URL (Year of original publication)

King James Bible. (2021). King James Bible Online. https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org (Original work published 1769)

(King James Bible, 1769/2021)  

Or:

King James Bible (1769/2021)

Author, A.A. (Year of publication). Title of work (A.A. Translator, Trans.) Publisher Name. URL (Year of original publication) [Use ca. when date is approximate]

Plato. (1994). The republic (B. Jowett, Trans.). The Internet Classics Archive. http://classics.mit.edu/Plato/republic.html (Original work published ca. 360 B.C.E.)

(Plato, ca. B.C.E./1994)  

Or:

Plato (ca. 360 B.C.E./1994)

OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (Mar 14 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat

(OpenAI, 2023) 

Agency. (Year of publication). Title of work (Publication number). Publisher. URL

Office for Civil Rights. (2015). Title IX resource guide. U.S. Department of Education. https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/docs/dcl-title-ix-coordinators-guide-201504.pdf

(Office for Civil Rights, 2015)  

Or:

Office for Civil Rights (2015)

Author, A.A. (Year of publication). Title of work (Publication number). Publisher. URL

Miles, G. (2020). Tweed-New Haven airport runway litigation and CGS § 15-120j (2020-R-0199). Office of Legislative Research, Connecticut General Assembly. https://www.cga.ct.gov/2020/rpt/pdf/2020-R-0199.pdf

(Miles, 2020)  

Or:

Miles (2020)

Name v. Name, Volume U.S. Page (Year). URL

Torres v. Puerto Rico, 442 U.S. 465 (1979). https://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/442/465/#tab-opinion-1953219

(Torres v. Puerto Rico, 1979)  

Or:

Torres v. Puerto Rico (1979)

Name v. Name, Volume Reporter Page (Court Year). URL

Sheff v. O'Neill, 238 Conn. 1 (1996). https://scholar.google.com/scholar_case?case=10572221569547466633&q=sheff+v+o%27neill&hl=en&as_sdt=4,7

(Sheff v. O'Neill, 1996)  

Or:

Sheff v. O'Neill (1996)

Inventor, A.A. (Year Patent Issued). Title of patent (U.S. Patent No. x,xxx,xxx). U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. URL

Taylor, C., Hanson, M., & Hudak, D. (2017). Scooping pan (U.S. Patent No. 9,693,553). U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. https://patft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-Parser?Sect1=PTO1&Sect2=HITOFF&d=PALL&p=1&u=%2Fnetahtml%2FPTO%2Fsrchnum.htm&r=1&f=G&l=50&s1=9,693,533.PN.&OS=PN/9,693,533&RS=PN/9,693,533

(Taylor et al., 2017)  

Or:

Taylor et al. (2017)

Note: E-mails (like other personal communication) are not included in the reference list; however, cite the e-mail in the text and include the author's initials in addition to the author's last name and provide a specific date.

(C.A. Roberts, personal communication, December 6, 2006)

Or:

As C.A. Roberts said in his e-mail ... (personal communication, December 6, 2006)

Note: Personal communication (such as letters, memos, e-mails, personal interviews and telephone conversations) are not included in the reference list. Cite the personal communication in the text, and include the author's initials in addition to the author's last name and provide a date as specific as possible.

(C.A. Roberts, personal communication, December 6, 2006)

Or:

As C.A. Roberts wrote in a letter... (personal communication, December 6, 2006)

Author, A. (Year, Date). [Lecture notes on...]. Location. URL (if applicable)

Author, A. (Year, Date). Title [PowerPoint slides]. Platform. URL (if applicable)

(Author, year)

(Author, year)

Author, A., (Year, Date). Title [Speech]. Location. URL (if applicable)

Yousafzai, M. (2013, July 12). Address on Education to the United Nations [Speech]. The United Nations, New York, NY, United States.

(Author, Year)

(Yousafzai, 2013)

Uploader. (Date of Posting). Title of Video [Video].  URL

Zmunk. (2007, June 20). Fairfield University students at NASA [Video]. http://youtube.com/watch?v=tgq1FYuWd1c

Note: The person or group who uploaded the video is listed as the author for retrievability purposes even if the content was created by someone else. The contributions of others who appear in the video may be included in the text narrative if desired.

(Zmunk, 2007)

Name of Originator or Primary Contributor (Function of Originator or Primary Contributor). (Copyright date). Title of film [Film]. Name of Movie Studio.

Hitchcock, A. (Director/Producer). (1954). Rear window [Film].  Paramount Pictures.

Note: For a film or video, use the director as the author. For a list of which individual to use as the author for other forms of media, consult the charts on pp. 341-342 of the APA 7 Publication Manual along with the examples in section 10.12.

(Hitchcock, 1954)

Or:

Hitchcock (1954)

Writer, A. A. (Copyright Date). Title of song [Song recorded by Name of Recording Artist if different from writer]. On Album title [Recording  medium]. Location: Recording Company. (Recording date if different from copyright date).

Dylan, B. (1993). All along the watchtower [Song recorded by J. Hendrix]. On Electric ladyland [Song]. MCA. (1968).

Bowie, D. (2016). Blackstar [Album]. Columbia.

(Dylan, 1993)

(Bowie, 2016)

Name of Scriptwriter (Writer), & Name of Director (Director). (Year, Month Day). Title of episode (Season number, Episode number if available) [TV series episode]. In Name of Executive Producer (Executive Producer), Title of television series. Studio Name.

Weiner, H. (Writer & Director). (1999). Land of plenty, land of want [TV series episode]. In H. Weiner & M. Weiner (Executive Producers) Journey to planet Earth. Screenscope.

(Weiner, 1999)

Or:

Weiner (1999)

Host, A.A. (Host). (Years of production). Title of work [Type of podcast]. Publisher. URL 

Vedantam, S. (Host). (2015-present). Hidden brain [Audio podcast]. NPR. https://www.npr.org/2019/09/12/760255265/finding-meaning-at-work-how-we-shape-and-think-about-our-jobs

(Vedantam, 2015-present)

Or: 

Vedantam (2015-present)

Name of Producer of Television Series (Producer). (Year(s)). Title of television series. [TV series]. Studio Name.

Weiner, M. (Producer) and Weiner, H. (Producer). (1999). Journey to planet Earth. [TV series]. Screenscope.

(M. Weiner & H. Weiner, 1999)

Or:

M. Weiner & H. Weiner (1999)

Author (Artist), A. A. (Year). Title of work [Format/Medium]. Location, City, Country. URL

El Greco. (1599-1600). View of Toledo [Painting]. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, NY. https://www.metmuseum.org/en/art/collection/search/436575

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of image or figure [Format/Medium]. Location. URL

Newman, M. E. J. (2008). Maps of the 2008 US presidential election [Map]. University of Michigan. http://www-personal.umich.edu/~mejn/election/2008/

Note: If no author is available use the following format:

• Title of image or figure [Type of image]. (Date of Posting/Revision). Location. URL

Note: If no date is available, use (n.d.).

(El Greco, 1599-1600)

(Newman, 2008)

Advertisement title. (Date of Posting). [Advertisement type]. URL

Tab cola. Be a mindsticker. (1960). [Television advertisement]. http://www.dailymotion.com/video/z2sqi_1960s-tab-commercial-be- a-mindstick_ads

Photographer, A.A. (Year of publication). Title of photograph [Photograph]. Publisher. URL 

Lynch, A. (1988). Aerial view of Bellarmine Hall [Photograph]. Fairfield University History Online. https://digital.fairfield.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/fuhp/id/223/rec/1

(Lynch, 1988)

Or:

Lynch (1988)

Author, A.A. (Year). Title of data set (Numerical identifier; version number) [Data set]. Publisher name. URL

O’Donohue, W. (2017). Content analysis of undergraduate psychology textbooks (ICPSR 21600; Version V1) [Data set]. ICPSR. https://doi.org/10.3886/ICPSR36966.v1

Note: The bracketed description is flexible (e.g., “[Data set],” “[Data set and code book]”)

Note: If you are citing existing data or statistics, cite the publication in which the data were published (e.g., a journal article, report, or webpage) rather than the data set itself.

(O'Donohue, 2017)

List the secondary source in the reference list:

Zelizer, B. (1998). Remembering to forget : Holocaust memory through the camera's eye. University of Chicago Press.

Name the original work in your text and but cite the secondary source:

In Susan Sontag's (1977) book On Photography ... (as cited in Zelizer, 1998, 11)

In-text Citation Example:

In a recent book about border patrols ... (Bigelow, 2006).

Or

Bigelow (2006) discusses the Mexican immigrant experience.

In-text Citation Example:

(Mock & Parker, 1997)

Or

Mock and Parker (1997) discuss the origins of family structure ...

In-text Citation Examples:

For the first in-text citation, cite all of the authors. (Garner et al., 1990)

Or:

Garner et al. (1990) discuss the origins of ...

For the in-text citation, use a few words of the title in place of the author's name. Italicize a book title and use double quotation marks around the title of an article or book chapter.

In-text Citation Examples:

(American Heritage Dictionary, 2000)

Or:

American Heritage Dictionary (2000)

Or:

("Number of Out-of-Wedlock Births," 2006)

Use n.d. in the place of the date.

In-text Citation Example:

(Roberts, n.d.)

In addition to the author's last name, include the author's initials. Provide a date that is as specific as possible. 

In-text Citation Example:

(C. A. Roberts, personal communication, December 6, 2006)

Or:

C. A. Roberts (personal communication, December 6, 2006)

When citing two or more works by different authors within the same parenthesis, list the authors alphabetically and separate each citation with a semicolon.

In-text Citation Example:

(Landau, 1989; Leja, 1993; Varnedoe, 1999)

In-text citation examples:

(Walker, 1991, Figure 2)

(Zelizer, 2003, Chapter 1)

"No single memory reflects all that is known about a given event, personality, or issue" (Zelizer, 2003, 3).

Note: When quoting from a source, always give page numbers.

If an electronic source does not provide page numbers, use the paragraph number if given.

In-text Citation Examples:

(Smith, para. 2)

If there are no page or paragraph numbers available, cite the section heading and count the paragraph number in which the citation falls.

In-text Citation Example:

"A key aspect of global Buddhism has been the exponential increase in the movement of Buddhism in the last five decades of the twentieth century, from Asia to Western nations" (Henry, 2006, Global Buddhism section, para. 2).

An entry in the reference list is not required for the Bible and other major classical works, such as Greek and Roman works (e.g. The Iliad). For the first in-text citation, identify the version of text you used.

In-text Citation Example:

Instead of page numbers, use the classical work's numbering system (books, chapters, verses, lines, cantos).

John 3:16 (King James Version)

Or:

(John 3:16 King James Version)

For subsequent in-text citations, you no longer need to identify the version used.

(John 3:16)

Include the original publication date and the date of the translation.

In-text Citation Example:

(Freud, 1899/1999)

For some ancient works, the original publication date is not applicable. Instead use the translation year.

(Plato, trans. 2004)