Ask a Librarian
Find Articles
Evidence-Based Practice Databases
- Cochrane Library (This link opens in a new window)A collection of several medical databases that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Reviews, which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. With protocols, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- Ovid Nursing (This link opens in a new window)Provides access to full-text and indexing for journals and books in the fields of nursing. Includes Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR). Simultaneous user limit: 2 for EBMR only.
Find Books, eBooks, and Movies
- Click here to search for books and media!This link will lead to an advanced search, so you can use as many or as few key terms as you want. For help with advanced searching, see our tutorial.
Can't find the book or article you want? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! We also have an ILL FAQ for more info!
Find Background Information
General Background Sources:
- Credo Reference Academic Core (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are short reference videos and high-resolution images. Useful background information source.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Britannica Academic (This link opens in a new window)
Provides access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, an interactive world atlas, a world data analyst tool, images, timelines, videos, and primary sources.
Discipline-Specific Background Sources:
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5-TRCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied HealthCall Number: OnlineISBN: 1787856054Publication Date: 2018
View Videos About Nursing
- Kanopy - Nursing VideosKanopy is a streaming video platform that provides access to a wide variety of films from some of the industry's leading producers and distributors, including Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation (MEF), First Run Features, PBS and BBC Active. Public performance rights for students, faculty and staff is included if no admission is charged.
- Nursing Education in Video (This link opens in a new window)Contains training videos designed to help nursing students improve their clinical skills.
Find Tests and Measurements
Looking for reviews of tests or need to locate testing instruments? Find help in our Tests and Measurements Guide!
Cite Your Sources
Working on a big project and need help with citations? Try Zotero, a citation manager that connects with your browser to save full text, organize sources, and create citations. Don't have a lot of time? You can safely generate a citation using ZoteroBib!
Find Other Resources in the Academic Commons
The Library isn't the only resource available to you! The following departments are housed in the Library, but provide different services than the Librarians do:
- The Office of Accessibility
- The Fredrickson Family Innovation Lab
- Global Fairfield
- The ITS Help Desk
- The Math Center
- The Science Center
- The Writing Center
Nursing Course Guides
Below is a list of this semester's Course Guides for this subject:
