Skip to main content

ENGL 2092: Contemporary Children’s Literature (Bowen)

Citing Your Sources

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated bibliographies may include a summary of the source, assessment of the source, or reflection on how it fits into your research. Your annotated bibliography may include some of these, all of these, or even others. Ask your professor for specific guidelines. 

"Writing an annotated bibliography is excellent preparation for a research project. Just collecting sources for a bibliography is useful, but when you have to write annotations for each source, you're forced to read each source more carefully. You begin to read more critically instead of just collecting information. At the professional level, annotated bibliographies allow you to see what has been done in the literature and where your own research or scholarship can fit. To help you formulate a thesis: Every good research paper is an argument. The purpose of research is to state and support a thesis. So, a very important part of research is developing a thesis that is debatable, interesting, and current. Writing an annotated bibliography can help you gain a good perspective on what is being said about your topic. By reading and responding to a variety of sources on a topic, you'll start to see what the issues are, what people are arguing about, and you'll then be able to develop your own point of view."


Samples from Purdue OWL

Citing Your Sources

The links below point to brief informational guides for creating accurate citations. For more complete information, consult the original books at the library (see call numbers below) or contact a librarian.

 

 

APA

lib_apa
Ref. BF 76.7 .P83 2010

 

 

Chicago:

Author-Date 17th ed

Notes-Bibliography 17th ed

Ref. Z 253.U69 2017

Online Manual

 

 

 

 

MLA 

Ref.  LB2369.G53 2016

 

 

IEEE

lib_ieee

 Full IEEE Manual

Questions about Citations? Save time, ask a Librarian!

Citation Managers

Refworks logo

RefWorks is an online citation management tool that allows you to organize your citations and quickly create bibliographies without having to type a word. Click the logo for more info!

the Zotero logo

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a standalone application that uses browser connectors to save full text, organize sources, and create citations. Click the logo to see more info!

Ask a Librarian

Research Librarians's picture
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Text: 203.295.7542
Schedule a research appointment