Skip to main content

ENGL 2092: Contemporary Children’s Literature (Bowen)

Secondary Texts: Articles, Book reviews, etc.

Secondary Texts can include Books, Journal Articles, Literary Criticisms, or Book Reviews

  • Use the Library Catalog box below to search for books, ebooks, and other media related to your author or book topic. You can also do this from the library homepage as well.
  • The list of library databases will help you locate journal articles, book reviews, literary criticisms, book chapters, etc.
  • The list of journals to consult was curated by Professor Bowen. Hyperlinks direct to the library's catalog record for the journal so you can view the databases that provide access.

Library Catalog


Advanced Search |  Recently Added Books & Media

Library Databases

Use databases to find articles, book chapters, book reviews, on your topic. These databases are the best place to start.

List of Journals to consider consulting

Professor Bowen compiled the list of journals below. These are good sources for articles on literature for young readers.  Some take a literary/aesthetic approach.  Others survey the field of children’s publishing or libraries.  The publications by the National Council of Teachers of English [NCTE] are designed to interest teachers.
Hyperlinks direct to the library's catalog record for the journal so you can view the databases that provide access.

  • The Lion and the Unicorn an international theme- and genre-centered journal, is committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children. The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture. It is especially noted for its interviews with authors, editors, and other important contributors to the field, as well as its outstanding book review section.”

  • Children's Literature Association Quarterly “publishes first-rate scholarship in children's literature studies. Each issue features an editorial introduction, juried articles about research and scholarship in children's literature, and book reviews.”

  • Children's Literature “publishes theoretically-based articles that address key issues in the field. Each volume includes articles, essays, and book reviews. Children's Literature is the annual publication of the Children's Literature Association (ChLA) and the Modern Language Association”

  • Children's Literature Review "helps parents, teachers, and librarians make informed choices when selecting reading materials for young learners. This resource covers more than 750 authors and includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore and graphic novels. Introductory essays are written and entries compiled by professional literature researchers and other subject matter experts. Each entry includes a set of previously published reviews, essays and other critical responses from sources that include scholarly books and journals, literary magazines, interviews, letters and diaries; all are carefully selected to create a representative history and cross-section of critical responses."

  • The Journal of Children's Literature “is a refereed journal devoted to teaching and scholarship for the field of children's literature. It is the product of the Children's Literature Assembly of NCTE and is published twice annually.”

  • The Horn Book  “founded in 1924 to herald the best in children’s literature.” This publication is oriented more to those in children’s book publishing and to parents than to scholars, but you may find useful, and very accessible, articles here. 

  • ALAN Review  “journal published by the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English (ALAN). It is devoted solely to the field of literature for young adults. It is published three times per academic year (fall, winter, and summer) and is sent to all ALAN members, individual and institutional. Members of ALAN need not be members of NCTE."

  • Language Arts  “is the premier journal for the teaching of language arts, focusing primarily on issues concerning children of preschool through middle school age.”  This journal is aimed at K-6 teachers. It offers articles on teaching book and reviews of new books. NCTE.

  • Voices from the Middle is the peer-reviewed journal of the Middle Level Section—by teachers, for teachers.” A source for articles on reading YA literature with adolescents.  NCTE.

  • English Journal is NCTE's award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in high schools and middle schools.” NCTE.

Beyond the DNL

Can't find the book or article you want?

Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! With ILL, you can:

  • Use materials from other libraries' collections free of charge
  • Get articles via e-mail within 3-5 business days
  • Get books within 2 weeks
  • Be notified by e-mail when your items arrive (physical materials will be held at the Library in your name)

Request materials online:

Other options for finding books:

If all else fails, you can always try searching Google Books to see if you can access the partial or full text of the book you need!

Google Book Search

Other options for finding articles:

Sometimes if the Library doesn't have the full text of an article, you can find it by searching for the article title in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Search