Skip to main content

EN 161: Irish Literature (Marion White)

English 161

What is Peer Review?

The North Carolina State University Libraries have produced a good, three-minute introduction to the process of peer review: https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/peerreview/.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Before conducting your search:

  • Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.
  • Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords.  What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making?  (E.g., insurgency vs. rebellion)
  • Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching
  • Identify disciplines (subject areas) that are relevant to your research question.  Also consider the ways in which your question might reside outside traditional disciplines or cut across them.
See the Search Tips tab for more information on how to construct keyword searches.

Possible Search Terms

Possible search terms:

If you are going to research a particular event try adding the name of your event to your search, for example "Bloody Sunday" AND "mourning"

  • death or dying
  • community violence
  • mourning
  • family relationships
  • Ireland OR "Northern Ireland"
  • "the troubles"
  • grief
  • bereavement
  • trauma
  • memory OR cultural memory

Irish Studies

JSTOR is a good, multidisciplinary database with which to start.  If you are looking for material on literature, religion, class, gender studies, history, or visual arts, you can also start with this database; however, you can also try one of the discipline-specific or multidisciplinary databases below. 

To search across many journal databases at once, use All Search.  To identify subject-specific databases not listed below, use Research Guides.

Once you have found relevant resources, use the "Full Text Online" link to get access.  If the library does not have access, request the item through Document Delivery

History

Literary Studies (Best Bet)

The most comprehensive database for literary studies is the MLA International Bibliography, which forms part of Literary Reference Center Plus.

Religion

Social Sciences / Gender & Race Studies

Visual Art

Multidisciplinary Databases