Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NS 110: Introduction to Professional Nursing - Pomarico: Finding Primary Sources

Primary Sources - Examples of Books

Note: You will want to search for additional primary sources in the library catalog related to your topic. Keywords denoting primary documents include the following: correspondence, document, manuscripts, personal narratives, quotations, reports, speeches, law. You may search for only one, or combine them with the word “or” as in: irish and (sources or documents or diaries or interviews or speeches)

Conversations with Leaders: Frank Talk from Nurses (and Others) on the Frontlines of Leadership
Ebook available here

The Selected Papers of Margaret Sanger
HQ764.S3 A25 2003

A World of Hurt
Mary Reynolds Powell
DS559.5 P67 2003

Cooked: An Inner City Memoir
Carol Karels
RT37 K27 C66 2005

Memoirs of a Soldier, Nurse, and Spy: A Woman's Adventures in the Union Army
Sarah Emma Emmonds
E628 O24 1994

American Daughter Gone to War: On the Front Lines with an Army Nurse in Vietnam
Winnie Smith
DS559.44 S57 1992

Making Choices, Taking Chances: Nurse Leaders Tell Their Stories
RT34 S36 1998

Code Blue: A Nurse's True Life Story
Barbara Huttmann
RT37 H87 A35 1984

Primary Sources - Databases

Databases for Historical Leaders

Databases for Contemporary Leaders / Theorists

Online Sources - Websites

Tips: Any website can be changed without notice, so be sure to evaluate every site you use.  For help evaluating websites, see our evaluating websites page or read Berkeley's very thorough Evaluating Websites: Techniques to Apply.

American Factfinder - http://factfinder.census.gov/
Access historical census data.

American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem
A growing collection of primary resources collected by the Library of Congress.

 Google Book Search - http://books.google.com/advanced_book_search
Use the advanced search and limit your search to the years that you are researching.

Google News Archive - http://news.google.com/archivesearch
Contains some digitized historical newspapers.  Important note: Do not pay for any articles!  If you need an article that is unavailable and you cannot find it through the library's databases, please contact a librarian.

New York Public Library - Digital Gallery- http://digitalgallery.nypl.org
rovides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Ask a Librarian

Research Librarians's picture
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Text: 203.295.7542
Schedule a research appointment

Primary Sources on Contemporary Nursing Leaders

For information on contemporary nursing leaders you will have to be more flexible in the sources you use since some of the nursing leaders you will be assigned might still be active in the field. Below are some tips for finding general information as well as primary sources for contemporary nursing leaders.

Author Search on Library Website  - Search the library website to see if the library has access to any publications written by your nursing leader. Click the "advanced search" link for the author search option.

Wikipedia - Search Wikipedia for quick background information, scroll all the way to the bottom for more resources.

YouTube - Search YouTube for interviews and videos of your nursing leaders. YouTube might also contain news videos where your leader is mentioned.

Google - Search Google and include the terms speeches or interviews if you are looking for primary sources. Also a quick google search will most likely tell you about particular affiliations/organizations your nurisng leader might be a part of. Once you get this information look up the affiliations/organizations directly.

LinkedIn - Searching linkedin is great for gaining background information and it will also display any publications of your nursing leader.