Skip to main content

HR 101 2: Ancient Roman and East Asian Art-Covaci & Rose

Historical Context

Researching Historical Context

Online (Databases & Encyclopedias):

  • Oxford Art Online                                                                                                                                                    Integrates a number of encyclopedias and reference works including Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
    Provides authoritative art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments during the Classical period.
  • The Oxford Classical Dictionary    
    Signed articles cover biography, literature, mythology, and other aspects of the ancient world. All entries
    Include a bibliography.
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome 
    Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
  • The Encyclopedia of Ancient History
    Includes information on people, places, and events of the Ancient Mediterranean region, including the Near East and Egypt, spanning from the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.
    Online and In Print: Ref. D54 .E53 2013 V. 1-13

Ebooks:

Print:

 

Library Catalog

Library Catalog

Find books, ebooks, music, movies and more.

Advanced Search | My Account

 

Ask a Librarian

Research Librarians's picture
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Text: 203.295.7542
Schedule a research appointment

Timeline of Art History