This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.
Database of digitized primary sources from the nineteenth century, curated by an international team of scholars and culled from the collections of the National Archives, the Library of Congress, the British Library, and other major repositories. Contains photographs, books, manuscripts, maps, letters, government documents, journals, and newspapers.
Collections available include:
-- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and cultural exchange
-- British politics and society
-- British theatre, music, and literature: High and popular culture
-- Children's Literature and Childhood
-- European literature 1790-1840: The Corvey collection
-- Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
-- Photography: The world through the lens
-- Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society
-- Science, technology, and medicine: 1780-1925
-- Women: Transnational networks.
Finding Images (Websites, Museum and Library Catalogs)
This list is a small selection of possible links to explore. More may be added throughout the course.
A collection of images from the classical Greek period to the Post-Modern consisting of architecture and sculpture arranged by architect or artist, location, or date.Though it's a personal web page, the images are helpful and several will cover a single building or monument.
Searchable image database comprised of selected fashion from the Robert and Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection, designs loaned to the project by private collectors and costume exhibits. Users can search by a number of categories including Decade, Designer and Fabric Type.
Features a database of images of original historic clothing, dating from the 1830s to the present. Researchers may browse the collection or do a keyword search to find images of complete pieces as well as images of clothing construction details. The site also includes features a blog and links to past costume exhibits.
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
If you are replicating any of our guides as a template on your own site for use by your library's LibGuide authors, we would appreciate a brief attribution, e.g "Portions of this guide were built using suggestions from DiMenna-Nyselius Library, Fairfield University.”