Skip to main content

AH 10: Origins and Transformations in Western Art (Schwab)

Historical Context

Researching Historical Context

Online:

  • Oxford Art Online Integrates a number of encyclopedias and reference works including Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
    • Egypt, Ancient
    • Greece, Ancient
    • Rome, Ancient

 

  • Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
    Provides authoritative art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments during the Classical period.

 

  • The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art & Architecture     

    The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture offers students, researchers, and the general public a reliable, up-to-date, and convenient resource covering this field of major importance in the development of Western history and international art and architecture    

  • Oxford Reference Online Premium    
    Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Art, A Dictionary of World Mythology, Who’s Who in the Classical World, and The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World,  plus 200+ other subject dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.

Print:

  • Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
    Reference Main Level DS 57 .C55 1995
    This four volume set includes essays on the environment (e.g., the flora & fauna of the Ancient Near East); population (e.g., ethnic diversity in Ancient Egypt), social institutions (e.g., costume in New Kingdom Egypt); history & culture; economy & trade; technology & artistic production; religion & science; visual & performing arts; and much more.

 

 

Ask a Librarian

Research Librarians's picture
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Text: 203.295.7542
Schedule a research appointment