Skip to main content

AH 10: Origins and Transformations in Western Art (Schwab)

Subject Matter and Symbolism

Researching Subject Matter and Symbolism

Online Materials:

Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology (ebook)

The Oxford Classical Dictionary                                                       
Ref. DE 5 .O9 2003
Signed articles cover biography, literature, mythology, and other aspects of the ancient world. All entries include a bibliography.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome 
Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.        

The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art & Architecture     

The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture offers students, researchers, and the general public a reliable, up-to-date, and convenient resource covering this field of major importance in the development of Western history and international art and architecture         

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Includes information on people, places, and events of the Ancient Mediterranean region, including the Near East and Egypt, spanning from the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CD.
Online and In Print: Ref. D54 .E53 2013 V. 1-13   

Print Materials:

Brill’s New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity 
Reference Main Level DE 5 .N4813   V.1-15 & Index                
A multi-volume encyclopedia that covers persons, places, events, and ideas from the Greek and Roman worlds.

Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization
Reference Main Level l DE 5 .C28 2008

Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
Reference Main Level  DS 57 .C55 1995 V.1-5
This four volume set includes essays on the enivronment (e.g., the flora & fauna of the Ancient Near East); population (e.g., ethnic diversity in Ancient Egypt), social institutions (e.g., costume in New Kingdom Egypt); history & culture; economy & trade; technology & artistic production; religion & science; visual & performing arts; and much more.

A Companion to Greek Art
Reference Main Level N 5630 .C716 2012 V.1-2
Authoritative account of the development of Greek art through the 1st millennium B, includes forms, materials, types, colonization, iconography, and reception of Greek art in post-classical periods

The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt
Reference Main Level BL 2450 .G6 W56 2003               
A comprehensive guide to the deities of ancient Egypt. Beautifully illustrated. Index included.
 
Dictionary of Subjects & Symbols in Art                                         
Reference Main Level N 7560 .H34 2008
A source that explains symbols and illustrates their use. Other helpful symbolism resources include the Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern & Western Art Reference Main Level N 7740 .H35 1994, Gods and Heroes in Art: Reference Main Level N 7760 .I4713 2002, and Symbols and Allegories in Art: Reference Main Level N 7740 .B2913 2005.

Edinburgh Companion of Ancient Greece & Rome  
Reference Main Level DE 59 .E3 2006     

The Encyclopedia of the Egyptian Pharaohs Volume I: Predynastic through Twentieth Dynasty (3300 - 1069  BC)
Reference Main Level DT 58 .B35 2008 v.1

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt  
Reference Main Level DT 58 .094 2001   

Princeton Dictionary of Ancient Egypt
Reference Main Level DT 58 .S55 2008

Who’s Who in Classical Mythology
Reference Main Level BL 715 .G68 1993                                            
Other biographical sources that may be of use include: Gods, Demigods, and Demons: A Handbook of Greek Mythology: Reference Main Level BL 783 .E97 2006, Who’s Who In Egyptian Mythology: Ref. BL 2428.M47 1978 & Who’s Who in the Ancient Near East: Ref. DS 61.5 .L45 1999.

Ask a Librarian

Research Librarians's picture
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Text: 203.295.7542
Schedule a research appointment