Researching Historical Context
- Oxford Art Online (This link opens in a new window)This collection of scholarly art encyclopedias and reference works includes Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. This content is updated regularly to reflect the latest scholarship.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
- Cambridge Histories (This link opens in a new window)
Full-text of Cambridge History volumes published through 2012. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryThematic essays on the history of art, and exemplary works of art in the Met Collections. You can navigate by time period and geographic location.
TIP: When you find a good essay, you can use this as a source, or even search for the sources for further reading for even more good sources.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art by ISBN: 9780195334661Publication Date: 2009-12-31Covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Call Number: Online and in print Ref. CB361 .C27 2003ISBN: 0198601751Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Print Reference Books
The Atlas of Medieval Europe by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level G1791 .M2 2007ISBN: 0415344549Publication Date: 2007
Atlas of the Celtic World by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level D70 .H34 2001ISBN: 0500051097Publication Date: 2001A historical atlas charting the Celts from their origins in the Bronze Age to their present-day diaspora, with colour maps supported by text and illustrations. It deals separately with Continental, Atlantic and Modern Celts, taking into consideration the latest research and academic controversies.
Atlas of the early Christian world by Call Number: Atlas Collection Main Level G1046.E4 M6 1958Publication Date: 1958
Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world : Antiquity by Call Number: Reference Main Level DE5 .N4813 v. 1-15Publication Date: 2011
The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome by Call Number: Reference Main Level DE59 .E3 2006 and ONLINEPublication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World by Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Call Number: Reference Main Level GT507 .E54 2010 v.1 -v.10ISBN: 9780195377330Publication Date: 201010-volume set.
Medieval Ireland by Call Number: Reference Main Level DA933 .M43 2005ISBN: 0415940524Publication Date: 2005Presenting the culture and society of Ireland between the 6th and 16th centuries, this text represents a comprehensive overview of the country during this period.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by Call Number: Reference Main Level BR95 .O8 2005Publication Date: 2005With over 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries, this work offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of the Christian Church, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Call Number: Reference Main Level D114 .O94 2010 V.1-4Publication Date: 2010
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe by Call Number: Reference Main Level HQ1147 .E85 W66 2006ISBN: 9780415969444Publication Date: 2006
