Researching Subject Matter and Symbolism
- Cambridge Histories (This link opens in a new window)
Full-text of Cambridge History volumes published through 2012. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium (This link opens in a new window)
A comprehensive collection of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. A useful background information source for starting your research. Simultaneous user limit: 5.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art by ISBN: 9780195334661Publication Date: 2009-12-31Covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia.
Print and Ebook Sources
The Atlas of Medieval Europe by Call Number: Stacks Upper Level G1791 .M2 2007ISBN: 0415344549Publication Date: 2007
Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world : Antiquity by Call Number: Reference Main Level DE5 .N4813 v. 1-15Publication Date: 2011
A Dictionary of Irish Saints by Call Number: Reference Main Level BX4659.I7 O737 2011ISBN: 9781846823183Publication Date: 2011A Dictionary of Irish Saints serves as a guide to the (mainly documentary) sources of information on the saints named in these dedications.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by Call Number: Reference Main Level N7560 .H34 2008Publication Date: 2008A source that explains symbols and illustrates their use. Other helpful symbolism resources include the Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern & Western Art: Ref. N 7740 .H35 1994, Gods and Heroes in Art: Ref. N 7760 .I4713 2002, and Symbols and Allegories in Art: Ref N 7740 .B2913 2005.
The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome by Call Number: Reference Main Level DE59 .E3 2006 and ONLINEPublication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World by Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2008
Gods and Heroes in Art by Call Number: Reference Main Level N7760 .I4713 2002ISBN: 0892367024Publication Date: 2003
The Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art by Call Number: N7740 .H35 1994ISBN: 0064333140Publication Date: 1995-02-14
Medieval Art by Call Number: Reference Main Level N7850.R67 1996ISBN: 0313293295Publication Date: 1996
Saints and Their Symbols by Call Number: Ref. BX4655.3 .L3613 2004ISBN: 0814629709Publication Date: 2005
Symbols and Allegories in Art by Call Number: Reference Main Level N7740 .B2913 2005ISBN: 0892368187Publication Date: 2005
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe by Call Number: Reference Main Level HQ1147 .E85 W66 2006ISBN: 9780415969444Publication Date: 2006
