Skip to main content

RETIRED CO 309: Communication Research Capstone - Zhang

Finding Articles

Welcome, CO 309!

This is the research guide for the Communication Research Capstone course. My name is Miguel García and I am the research librarian teaching your research class. Please feel free to contact the library throughout the semester if you would like to schedule an appointment to talk about research strategies and locating sources for your final paper.

Below, you will find some database suggestions (on the left) for locating scholarly journal articles to support your research paper.

In the right-hand column - Answers to Frequently Asked Questions:

These are the slides from the library class. It may help to review them to refresh your memory on tips to make your searches more efficient.

Selected Databases

Use databases to find articles on your topic. These databases are the best place to start.

Databases for Business

Databases for Psychology

Databases for Sociology

Databases for Education

Evaluate Your Sources

The video below recaps the peer review process, which you are probably already familiar with. The following are additonal important criteria to consider as you complete your literature reviews:

  • become familiar with the major scholars working on your research topic
  • keep an eye out for bias, errors, contradictions, or misinformation
  • research the sponsorship of the research study
  • consider intercultural, political, international, and ethnic influences or perspectives
  • visit this guide made by librarians at UNC for more in-depth information on evaluation

Finding a Source from a Citation

  • When searching databases, use AND, OR, and parentheses to focus your search.
  • The asterisk * symbol will search for all variations of a word. For example: basket* will search for baskets and basketry. Using quotes will search for a phrase.
  • Combine synonyms with OR and put them inside parentheses, like this:
femini* AND (film OR "motion picture")
Already have the citation? Find an article with citation linker!



Watch this tutorial below to learn how to find full-text articles.

Ask a Librarian

Research Librarians's picture
Research Librarians
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
DiMenna-Nyselius Library
Fairfield University

Text: 203.295.7542
Schedule a research appointment