Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES

The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below

More details here.

ENGL 3052: Cultural Studies Theory (Rajan)

Spring 2017

What is Peer Review?

The North Carolina State University Libraries have produced a good, three-minute introduction to the process of peer review: https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/peerreview/.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Before conducting your search:

  • Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.
  • Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords.  What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making?  (E.g., insurgency vs. rebellion)
  • Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching
  • Identify disciplines (subject areas) that are relevant to your research question.  Also consider the ways in which your question might reside outside traditional disciplines or cut across them.
See the Search Tips tab for more information on how to construct keyword searches.

Literature (Best Bet)

The most comprehensive database for literary studies is the MLA International Bibliography, which forms part of Literary Reference Center Plus.

Begin with the database above.  If you are looking for material on gender studies, history, or visual arts, you can try one of the specific databases below. 

To search across many journal databases at once, use All Search.  To identify subject-specific databases not listed below, use Research Guides.

Once you have found relevant resources, use the "Full Text Online" link to get access.  If the library does not have access, request the item through Document Delivery.

Film & Media Studies

Gender & Sexuality Studies

Music

Philosophy

Pop Culture

Visual Art

Multidisciplinary Databases