Oxford Art Online Oxford Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001). This resource is updated continuously. The Dictionary of Art in its original print format is available – Ref. N31.D5 1996.
Helpful Phrases for Searching:
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Provides authoritative art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments during the Classical period
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Art, A Dictionary of World Mythology, Who’s Who in the Classical World, and The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World, plus 200+ other subject dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.
Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization
Ref. DE 5 .C28 2008
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
Ref. DS 57 .C55 1995
This four volume set includes essays on the enivronment (e.g., the flora & fauna of the Ancient Near East); population (e.g., ethnic diversity in Ancient Egypt), social institutions (e.g., costume in New Kingdom Egypt); history & culture; economy & trade; technology & artistic production; religion & science; visual & performing arts; and much more.
A Companion to Greek Art
Ref. N 5630 .C716 2012 V1-2
Authoritative account of the development of Greek art through the 1st millennium B, includes forms, materials, types, colonization, iconography, and reception of Greek art in post-classical periods
Edinburgh Companion of Ancient Greece & Rome
Ref. DE 59 .E3 2006
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Ref. DT 58 .094 2001
If you are replicating any of our guides as a template on your own site for use by your library's LibGuide authors, we would appreciate a brief attribution, e.g "Portions of this guide were built using suggestions from DiMenna-Nyselius Library, Fairfield University.”