Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UPDATES REGARDING LIBRARY RESOURCES AND SERVICES

The DiMenna-Nyselius Library is open. To learn more about our resources and services, visit the link below

More details here.

LCST 3301: Justice and the Developing World (Jones & Vásquez)

Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spring 2017

Finding Primary Sources

The term "primary sources" refers most directly to documents or objects that were created during the time period that you are studying.  Secondary sources conversely are often created by scholars after the period in question and are focused on analyzing one or more primary sources.

See the Princeton University Libraries' description for more information.

Archival Sources

The University Archives and Special Collections is "home to rare books and several unique collections of material that are available for research, classroom, and exhibit use."  Important among these collections is the Walter J. Petry Collection of material related to the Sandinista Revolution in Nicaragua (1979-1990).  Please contact Elise Bochinski for more information.

Walter J. Petry Collection

When rebels of the Frente Sandinista de Liberación Nacional (FSLN) defeated the forty-six year dictatorship of the Somoza dynasty and its allies, they faced the the daunting challenge of creating a new kind of nation-state which would address the interests of the vast majority of impoverished, illiterate people in the nation. Prof. Walter Petry made his first visit to Nicaragua in July 1981 and observed the enthusiastic celebrations of the second anniversary of the Sandinista triumph. In succeeding annual visits from 1983 through 1992, one of his major concerns was to identify material that would illuminate the Sandinista revolutionary project (1979-1990) for future generations.

Material in the Petry Collection includes newspapers, journals, pamphlets, posters, one object (mask) and other print-based material related to the Sandinista Revolution in Nicaragua (1979-1990). Also included in Prof. Petry’s donation to the University are 400 published books (secondary sources) that have been incorporated into the library’s main circulating collection.  There is also a two-volume DVD set available for viewing, in which Prof. Petry discusses the Sandinista Revolution and highlights certain aspects of this collection.

Walter J. Petry Collection - Finding Aid

Walter J. Petry Collection Galleries

Please visit the Walter J. Petry Collection Image Gallery, part of Fairfield University's institutional repository DigitalCommons@Fairfield, to view this and many other posters from Nicaragua related to the Sandinista Revolution.

Walter J. Petry Collection Image Gallery

For a complete list of books related to the Sandinista Revolution, feel free to visit the Walter J. Petry Collection Book Gallery, also part of DigitalCommons@Fairfield.

Walter J. Petry Collection Book Gallery